Shopping Lists

I’m feeling a bit more on top of Christmas this year than last year.  Now if I could only get my advent calendar done, I’d feel superfantastic.

Usually I spend a day the week before Christmas baking cookies, then we drive all over town delivering them.  I enjoy it, but I wanted to try something different this year – something I could do ahead of time that could be delivered whenever and that didn’t need to be given fresh.  Huge thanks to Cindy for the idea.  Her tutorial is here.

I started off with pieces of the boy’s artwork that I’d been saving up for a few months.  I cleaned them up in Photoshop to take care of random marks and smudges.  Then added lines and sent the files off to the printer.  They printed and cut the sheets in half.

Shopping lists

The super cool stuff  in this project is the padding compound.  It’s a fun pink that dries a deep red.

Shopping lists

It took me a while to learn that I do better rubbing it on with my finger.  After that it took me a while to get the pink off my finger.  In fact, several hours later and it’s still a pretty pink. 

Here’s a little sampling of my boys’ work.

shoppinglist4shoppinglist1shoppinglist3shoppinglist2

15 Responses to “Shopping Lists”


  1. 1 Vicki W November 9, 2009 at 3:12 pm

    What a great gift idea! I didn’t know that you could buy that glue.

  2. 2 Johanna November 9, 2009 at 3:24 pm

    What a cool project. So many ideas are flowing through my head right now!!!

  3. 3 SewLindaAnn November 9, 2009 at 4:37 pm

    That is such a great idea, I’m going to check for the Padding Glue online or locally (Hobby Lobby/Micheals) My son would be thrilled to have is artwork printed like that, and then maybe he would actually write the to do list I’ve been trying to convince him to do.

  4. 4 Jenny Limb November 9, 2009 at 4:50 pm

    You always have the best ideas!

  5. 5 Red Pepper Quilts November 9, 2009 at 5:21 pm

    What a fabulous gift! The boys’ drawings are exceptional!

    Rita

  6. 6 Erin J. November 10, 2009 at 12:40 am

    What a cute idea! And you are getting a head start on your items for Christmas deliveries!

  7. 7 Bored & Crafty November 10, 2009 at 11:14 am

    Oooh padding glue is super fun! I use a craft/wooden popsicle stick to apply them because when I use my finger, I get some glue on the pads. I can be real clumsy. Haha

  8. 8 Emily November 11, 2009 at 12:35 am

    What a great idea! Love your blog.

  9. 9 Janine November 12, 2009 at 8:43 pm

    Very cute! I did something similar years ago and had the printer put on the padding compound. Just wondering why you didn’t do this, too. They came out beautiful and very professional looking!

  10. 11 Stephanie November 14, 2009 at 9:47 pm

    so much fun! YOu have had the most creative ideas here. Great stocking stuffers!🙂

  11. 12 Lauren November 28, 2009 at 8:23 am

    I can’t wait to make notepads now, everyone I know may end up getting one with their Christmas gifts!


  1. 1 tutesday :: fun handmade holiday gifts | Social interaction, creative marketing, making dreams happen & craftiness. | Lisa Ashby Trackback on November 24, 2009 at 10:46 am
  2. 2 Sometime out of nothing « House of Roux Trackback on December 12, 2009 at 6:17 pm

Leave a Reply

Craft Apple

An apple a day keeps the doctor away, right? Well, crafting is my apple. It's what I do to maintain my sanity while taking care of my family. I homeschool my three boys, ages 12, 13, and 14), am a quilter, a bagaholic, and a pattern designer.
© 2006-2015 Craft Apple Creations

Archives