I’m on a Bag-Making Kick.

I’m on a bag-making kick.  Don’t ask me why.  My next pattern is a bag and it’s almost done.  After making a gazillion of those bags, I thought I’d be sick of bags, but I’m really enjoying these simple ones – the kind I used to make when this blog was in it’s infancy – a mere baby blog.  I think I’ll call it a blog l’enfant as in:  Sometimes I think back to the carefree days of  my blog l’enfant.

DC Totes

Sadly, since there is so much new fabric coming out all the time, some fabric looks old even though I haven’t had it that long.  These first two are made with Amy Butler’s Daisy Chain.  I’m just experimenting with different shapes and sizes here.

Tree tote

I love the fabric on this one.  Can you believe this one was a Target shower curtain?

Not sure where all this bag making will take me. Perhaps nowhere. Perhaps someplace fun.  We’ll see.

23 Responses to “I’m on a Bag-Making Kick.”


  1. 1 Lauren November 17, 2009 at 9:11 pm

    Good fabric is good fabric, old, new or in between. Maybe we should start looking in the Target bath dept though, that bag is super cute!

  2. 2 veronica November 17, 2009 at 10:23 pm

    i am in love with your target shower curtain tote. i make some totes too, but i they are time consuming. love your simple bag with terrific fabric.

  3. 3 CraftyCripple November 18, 2009 at 5:23 am

    I’m loving your totes. They are gorgeous and inspiring.

  4. 4 Johanna November 18, 2009 at 8:48 am

    I love the shower curtain one! Shows you that you need to look for “fabric” in unorthodox places. I tell my 3yo that we are going “fabric shopping” at the thrift store! I found an amazing XL women’s velvet skirt there the other day for $5! Lots of fabric for an awesome price… some disassembly required!

  5. 5 Anna November 18, 2009 at 12:14 pm

    Those bags are lovely!

  6. 6 Anna November 18, 2009 at 12:19 pm

    Oh and if u like that kind of fabrics u can find similar ones in Ikea (no idea if u have this shop in ur country)🙂

  7. 7 rohanknitter November 18, 2009 at 12:58 pm

    They are super cute!! I think my fav is the shower curtain, lol!

  8. 8 Carolyn November 18, 2009 at 6:48 pm

    I love the shower curtain bag……I just may have to keep an eye on that department at Target!

    Thanks for the inspiration🙂

  9. 9 Elena November 18, 2009 at 8:12 pm

    So cute! I really love the way you combine the outer and lining fabrics…so vibrant! Makes me want to get away from the typical boring and basic solids.

  10. 10 Robyn November 18, 2009 at 8:32 pm

    That is THE most awesome shower curtain and I’d say it’s much cuter even as a bag! Nice work!

  11. 11 Beth November 18, 2009 at 11:03 pm

    You win the award for the most creative use of a shower curtain! All your bags look terrific!

  12. 12 Xue November 20, 2009 at 4:29 am

    Love that gorgeous Target shower curtain fabric. Lovely bags! I know how you fell. I keep making stuff & buying fabrics too. Happy Friday from Tokyo!

  13. 13 Lisa Ashby November 20, 2009 at 8:45 am

    How in the world did I miss that shower curtain in Target? Adorable! I especially love the shape of the larger bag in the first photo. I really need a new bag, and that one is the perfect size!

  14. 15 Jessica November 20, 2009 at 8:51 am

    That shower curtain bag is too cute!

    I love finding fabric at Target. My husband has even gotten into the fun… one of the last “presents” he brought home for me was a clearanced tablecloth from there. 😀

  15. 16 Candied Fabrics November 21, 2009 at 1:10 am

    Ooh! That shower curtain – awesome fabric…good eye! I’ll bet it was a decent price/yd too!

  16. 17 Organizing Mommy November 22, 2009 at 6:22 pm

    Oh, that shower curtain one is too cool. Very nice job. I still have not “designed” my pattern. It was fun making all of the hats, though.

  17. 18 Shannon November 24, 2009 at 2:27 pm

    I love Amy Butler but boy oh boy..I HAVE to make that Target curtain bag!

  18. 19 Bored & Crafty November 25, 2009 at 9:23 pm

    I may just be in love with that Target shower curtain. Sadly, we don’t have a Target where I am.😦

  19. 20 Hilari December 11, 2009 at 1:04 pm

    I’ve got to get to Target – love that shower curtain fabric. You did a great job (as always!) with that bag!

  20. 21 Rose_Haven December 12, 2009 at 5:20 pm

    Here is Washington, there is a push to limit the use of plastic bags. One large city banned the use in food stores in the city limits. The food stores offer larger cloth carry bags with their logo for $2. For every bag you bring to use, they take .10 off your bill.

    The bags are handy, but the handles are too long. I’ve thought of doing appliques & cover their logo! They fold up well with a band around them & keep them in one bag in the car or with your shopping list. It’s no help if you forget to take them in the store!

    If you don’t have your own shopping bags yet, pick your favorite to make your own or match your outfit. The newer laminated fabric would make a good lining and there is also something they use to support the bottoms.

  21. 22 whatthehay December 29, 2009 at 6:45 pm

    LOVE the curtain! NEED it for my icky master bath – it will be perfect. Now, to plan a trip to target this week… OH, and I’ve picked up clearanced shower curtains at Target before, for just this purpose. Not as cute, but still. I also haunt thrift stores for old sheets and clothes. I go for the $1 clothing items though – I’m super cheap (but not easy)🙂 And, yard sales rock. Lots of old sheets/clothes/fabric for very little money… Good way to build up the fabric stash!


Leave a Reply

Craft Apple

An apple a day keeps the doctor away, right? Well, crafting is my apple. It's what I do to maintain my sanity while taking care of my family. I homeschool my three boys, ages 12, 13, and 14), am a quilter, a bagaholic, and a pattern designer.
© 2006-2015 Craft Apple Creations

Archives