Silhouettes

So for art today, I balanced a lamp sideways on some hymnbooks and taped a piece of white paper to the wall.  The plan was to make silhouettes of the boys as part of our study of France.  Like all art projects, it didn’t go as smoothly as I hoped.  Staying still was the most difficult part.  For some reason, all they boys wanted to do was turn and stare at the lightbulb.  What’s with that???

So after our sorry attempt at an art project, I thought I’d be a cool mom and show the boys how to make silhouettes on the computer.  I took pictures of the boys and edited them in Photoshop.

silhouette1

Can you tell which one had a bad attitude about getting his picture taken?  Hint:  he’s the one with the  fuzzy hair.

silhouette2

Surprisingly, the only part they were super interested in was making their heads different colors. 

Another school subject crossed off the list for the day.  Another art project I may never try again.

10 Responses to “Silhouettes”


  1. 1 Beth December 8, 2009 at 7:28 pm

    So cute!!! It makes me smile to see the silhouette of your unwilling son. He definitely has a different profile! 🙂

    • 2 craftapple December 8, 2009 at 10:57 pm

      It’s his shoulder. He was pouting with his head sunk down into his shoulders. All because I wouldn’t let him do a super hero pose for his silhouette. We have tons of super hero pose pictures. :o)

  2. 3 Katie December 8, 2009 at 7:40 pm

    I love them! They’re kind of Andy Warhol-ish. I’d love to make silhouettes for my wall, and tried once to take profile pics of my kids, and they were having none of it.

    I’ve been meaning to email you. I need some serious homeschooling encouragement. Almost every day of school starts with a fight right now and it’s wearing me down.

  3. 4 revel designs December 9, 2009 at 8:25 am

    but mom. there aren’t any super hero silhouettes!!

  4. 5 Cindy December 9, 2009 at 9:30 am

    What a great idea. I’ll have to try it out. I just got photoshop and am having a blast learning it. Thanks for the tip. I’m not always the best at coming up with stuff to do outside of the three R’s for school.

  5. 7 Stephanie December 9, 2009 at 1:53 pm

    hehe, very cute! They look great!

  6. 8 Dana December 24, 2009 at 8:47 pm

    This reminds me of DS#2’s preschool photo when he was 2. He’s got such a grumpy face – not crying, just mad. It makes me smile every time I see it.

    Now that he’s 6, he just does this goofy smile with his chin way up in the air. I like the grumpy face better. ;^)

  7. 9 Elaine January 1, 2010 at 10:41 am

    I love your silhouettes. I recently picked up a family photo album from the early 1900’s {as mentioned in my most recent and slightly outdated post} and there are 3 silhouette photographs dated 1933 in it. They are so sweet and I haven’t ever seen anything quite like it.
    Yours turned out so nice…I just love them!

  8. 10 Heather January 14, 2010 at 12:45 am

    I love these silhouettes! Do you have any other ideas on how to do them {if one doesn’t have photo shop…and doesn’t want the boy staring into the light! :)}
    Thanks for such a great blog!


Leave a Reply

Craft Apple

An apple a day keeps the doctor away, right? Well, crafting is my apple. It's what I do to maintain my sanity while taking care of my family. I homeschool my three boys, ages 12, 13, and 14), am a quilter, a bagaholic, and a pattern designer.
© 2006-2015 Craft Apple Creations

Archives