Bags, bags, bags

I was lucky to get my hands on a couple yards of Echino Birdsong fabric from SuperBuzzy.  When I went back to get some more yardage, it was sold out and seems to be sold out all over the web.  I’m sure shops will be restocking soon, but I’ll have to wait until then to get some more.

Echino Bags

I’m especially proud of the pink bag because it is my first successful attempt at a drop zipper.  This bag is for a friend in Taiwan and because she lives in a big  crowded city, I felt like she needed a bag with a more substantial closure than a magnet or clasp.  No pick-pocketing hands will be able to get into the top of this bag when it’s zipped.

Echino Bag Drop Zipper

So help me out – when a zipper is down in the bag like this, what is it called?  I’m calling it a drop zipper, but I’m sure there’s a real name for it.  The pattern for this bag is available here.

And I finally got to make a bag out of some of Anna Maria Horner’s Drawing Room fabric.  Initially, I wasn’t going to buy it, but then one day I saw a lady at a park carrying my Diaper Bag pattern made out of this fabric.  I was in shock – my bag design on some stranger in a park – such a neat feeling.  Sort of like the time I met a lady at church who commented that she had the pattern to make the Chemisette Handbag that I was carrying.  Really? I thought, Someone else has a bag pattern that looks just like this one? Then I found out that it was MY pattern.  Very exciting.  I felt like such a dork saying, It’s a CraftApple pattern?  That’s my pattern.  I’m CraftApple!

Drawing Room Bag

So I didn’t end up making the Diaper Bag pattern with the Drawing Room fabric, but it looks delicious on a bag, doesn’t it?

21 Responses to “Bags, bags, bags”


  1. 1 Melanie December 14, 2009 at 9:31 pm

    You’re a bag making machine! dropped zipper sounds good to me – I’ll see if i can figure out another term.

  2. 2 Beth December 14, 2009 at 11:17 pm

    Love your bags! I don’t know what that kind of zipper is called either. My favorite (leather) purse has a zipper like that and it recently started to rip. 😦 I think I put too much in the bag and wore it out.

  3. 4 Joanna December 15, 2009 at 9:39 am

    Wow, I really like that fabric. I haven’t gotten brave enough to make a zipper closure like that. Good job!

    • 5 craftapple December 15, 2009 at 6:35 pm

      My first and most recent attempt at a zipper like this was a couple of years ago and I failed miserably – like it all went in the trash miserably. 🙂 I guess my brain has worked it’s way through the process and it wasn’t too hard this time through. Woo hoo!

  4. 6 Annie December 15, 2009 at 6:22 pm

    Love that fabric, was able to snap some up, cant wait to get it! Love the bags. so cute.

    • 7 craftapple December 15, 2009 at 6:36 pm

      I found some available from Canada, but that was it. I had no idea it would sell out so quickly or I would have purchased more. No actually, I would have ordered a bolt at quilt market. 🙂 Have fun with it! It’s so pretty!

  5. 8 Lauren December 15, 2009 at 6:41 pm

    Those bags are great, size, shape and print, it’s all super cute!

  6. 9 Julie D December 19, 2009 at 7:30 am

    Love the bags, what about the term Recessed Zipper? Sounds appropriate!LOL

  7. 11 Cathy December 20, 2009 at 8:21 pm

    Love the bags (as usual). If you didn’t get my email (wordpress has confused me) and even if you did, I wanted to thank you for the welcome back.

  8. 12 Angie Morgan December 21, 2009 at 9:34 pm

    Imagine how long it took that lady at church to figure out that you meant you REALLY made the pattern. She probably thought you just were a sewing person who bought the pattern and then made it. It probably took her 10 minutes to figure out what you really meant. You too would probably be great friends and could think of fun things to talk about over coffee or something.

    Your bags are adorable. I love all your patterns!

  9. 13 Stacy T December 22, 2009 at 8:21 pm

    Pretty Pretty!! I rarely get the bag sewing bug… so much more work then they appear to be, lol. Yours are lovely!

  10. 14 Karen December 22, 2009 at 8:55 pm

    ohhhhhhhhhh – I likey very muchy!!! I am into the bird fabric lately – TWEET!

    Karen

  11. 15 rosieroyalty December 31, 2009 at 6:47 pm

    These bags are so lovely!! Very very well done. Love them🙂

  12. 16 Elaine January 1, 2010 at 10:44 am

    How thrilling to bump into gals here and there who are using your patterns. Drawing Room definitely is a favorite of mine and looks lovely centered on any bag. Your bags are looking divine!
    Happy New Year, my friend!

  13. 17 candiedfabrics January 2, 2010 at 1:42 pm

    You are NOT a dork – what a lovely surprise! One of my favorite comments from people is when they tell me they saw someone with one of my bags! Of course, my favorite comment is Can I buy one?😉

    Know that we in blog land are waiting with bated breath for you to share the secrets of a drop zipper! How ever did you do it??

    Happy New Year! (I’m just now catching up on blogs….)

  14. 18 Stephanie January 6, 2010 at 10:58 pm

    I love Anna Maria’s fabrics, the birdie looks great on a bag! happy 2010!

  15. 19 Chara Michele January 10, 2010 at 12:12 am

    What pretty bags! I love that echino fabric on those 2!🙂 I have no clue what you call those kind of zippers, I think when I made my first bag with a zipper like that and blogged it I just called it a recessed zipper…

  16. 20 Bethany January 15, 2010 at 12:19 pm

    Very cute bags! I love the design – wide and shallow, easy to find what you are looking for. Thanks for sharing!
    Bethany


  1. 1 Tailored Bags « Craft Apple Trackback on December 3, 2010 at 2:37 am

Leave a Reply

Craft Apple

An apple a day keeps the doctor away, right? Well, crafting is my apple. It's what I do to maintain my sanity while taking care of my family. I homeschool my three boys, ages 12, 13, and 14), am a quilter, a bagaholic, and a pattern designer.
© 2006-2015 Craft Apple Creations

Archives