Amy Butler Tunic

When I haven’t blogged in a while it makes it very difficult for me to post.  Not sure why – it’s like writing that very first blog post ever – very nerve racking.

I’ve been swimming in fabric over here and sewing every night.  I mean after all those Fall prints made it to the shops, I had to pick some up.  Seriously, I think the fabric companies know what they are doing – teasing us at Quilt Market with new fabric lines, then making us wait for them.  A bunch of smart cookies, they are. 

Much of what I’ve sewn I can’t show yet but will show some soon!  I sent my files for the next Craft Apple pattern to the printer this morning (early morning, really, like before I went to sleep last night) which is always a huge relief.  I am rewarding myself tonight with a girlie movie.  So after a little soccer with my co-ed team I will be icing my ankle and my head and watching Julie & Julia.  Yes, I ice my head – the whole thing.  For some reason I get a headache after exercising  (soccer, running, anything) unless I cool my head down afterward with a giant ice pack.  Crazy you say?  Well, it’s nothing compared to how I’ll look after I sew me up a little head ice-pack holder.  Ha!

I made this little number from Amy Butler’s Mini Dress/Tunic pattern.  Fairly simple pattern, really.  It would have been even simpler if I wasn’t trying to watch my Star Trek reruns at the same time.  I really can’t follow someone else’s pattern while watching TV.  Lesson learned.  Anyway,  the dress is cute!  And makes me look great….with child.  2 thumbs up for the pattern – just not on my body.  This is why I want to start taking sewing lessons so I can have someone teach me how to avoid this.  I found a teacher – just need to find some time. 

Amy Butler's Tunic...

Yes, the wind was blowing and made the pregnancy-look factor go up several notches. 

Fabric is Anna Maria Horner’s Pastry Line Dobby in Magenta from here.

Amy Butler's Tunic

The Dobby is very thin, but nice to the touch and beautiful.  I have to admit I can still see one spot where I used the seam ripper.  The fabric feels thinner that some double gauze I have.  So much to do before the weekend starts.  I hope yours is filled with fun and joy!

40 Responses to “Amy Butler Tunic”


  1. 1 rene January 22, 2010 at 4:53 pm

    I think your top turned out really cute and looks great on you!

  2. 2 Adrienne January 22, 2010 at 4:58 pm

    Well how about that – a baby! Congrats! The top is cute but doesn’t compare to the bun in the oven😉

  3. 4 thornberry January 22, 2010 at 5:12 pm

    I think it looks great Linda – but I always like a maternity-esque style (I know that most people don’t!) Perfect colour choice. Glad to hear the pattern is almost here too – and nice you see you back blogging.

  4. 5 Meagan January 22, 2010 at 7:12 pm

    Am I reading that you’re pregnant??? Congrats! And super cute top. I’ll have to try it out next time I’m pregnant.

    • 6 craftapple January 22, 2010 at 10:12 pm

      For the record, I am NOT pregnant. There’s always a danger in posting pictures of yourself in pregnant-looking clothes, eh? I will definitely not be wearing this shirt in public until it’s fixed! OR, if it’s not fixed by the time you’re pregnant, you can have it! 🙂 It would look good on you – all tall like you are.

      • 7 Meagan Dennison January 22, 2010 at 11:38 pm

        I didn’t think you looked pregnant (although I do think it would be a super cute maternity top). I thought by what you said that you were saying you were pregnant!! I’ll definitely take it for next go around (Lord willing, that will still be at least 1 year away!!)

  5. 8 Beth January 22, 2010 at 8:30 pm

    Cute tunic! There are so many patterns I can’t make for myself because I’ve learned they won’t look good on me.

  6. 10 Cindy January 22, 2010 at 11:14 pm

    The first thing I thought when I saw the pattern was how cute it was. The second thing I thought was I don’t see how someone could not look pregnant, unless one was very tall and rail thin. That being said, I do think it looks cute on you, and I don’t think you look pregnant!

  7. 12 Stacey January 23, 2010 at 5:49 am

    You do not even look close to being preggo. I love the tunic and am so excited as I’ve just received mine in the mail. I actaully AM preggo and was thinking this shirt would work for the maternity wear dept. this summer. I thought I might have to make some minor adjustments for the big belly but your “windy” picture makes me think it might be okay, at least until I’m HUGE. I love your fabric choice too.

    • 13 craftapple January 23, 2010 at 10:35 pm

      Yes, you could probably just make it a bit longer in the front and wear it to the end. Then it wouldn’t be too hard to straighten it all out after the baby. Congratulations!

  8. 14 Sarah January 23, 2010 at 10:15 am

    I’m pretty sure I dreamed about this mini dress last night . . . Might just have to make it.

  9. 16 kashoan January 23, 2010 at 11:41 am

    Cute shirt! I cant wait to see all your new fab creations. Im following you on twitter and sometimes reply back to you. I didnt know if you knew it was me.🙂 Im @kraftykash

  10. 17 mjb January 23, 2010 at 9:09 pm

    Amy Butler is tall and thin, so maybe her designs lean that way. I learned the hard way last weekend using a Japanese pattern that my taller and curvy figure is not great for those patterns. Ironically it also looked like something that I could wear when pregnant, except it wouldn’t fit the growth in my bustline that would be sure to come. I think learning pattern drafting would help, or at least measuring the pattern pieces instead of just going by the finished measurements so I could make small changes as I go instead of waiting until the end to fix things.

  11. 21 revel designs January 25, 2010 at 1:59 am

    You may not be pregnant but you do have a baby on the way! When is the little guy getting here? It’s about time you posted!!

  12. 24 Andrea January 25, 2010 at 7:36 am

    That is really cute. I love the fabric. Lovely.

  13. 25 Rae January 26, 2010 at 10:52 pm

    LOVE the AMH fabric, and it IS really cute! But yes, I kindof have to agree about the pregnant look thing…bummer. I hate it when that happens. Know that you are in good company; with my propensity towards anything empire waisted tops, this happens to me all the time.

    Sidenote: am chuckling at all the “are you PREGGERS?” comments up there…

  14. 26 Janine January 27, 2010 at 4:19 pm

    The tunic turned out great. I’m interested in the ice pack that you’ll sew. I always got headaches when I exercised too. Then I started drinking gatorade while I exercised and it helped. I hope you got to relax!

  15. 27 Jayna23 January 27, 2010 at 6:22 pm

    congratulations on your pregnancy. why don’t you flip that top up so we can get a glimpse of you baby belly? don’t see enough of that on blogs these days.

  16. 28 laura janine January 27, 2010 at 11:12 pm

    This whole conversation makes me smile. Thanks. As far as patterns and for that matter, clothing, I can not find clothing or patterns to fit either. A friend says I need to go with her to Japan and get clothing there. Hmmmm. The gas may be a bit much. Instead I bought some old 1940’s patterns which seem to favor my size and shape. We shall see if anything good comes from the effort. And how can you find an older woman to teach you how to sew anymore?

    • 29 craftapple January 28, 2010 at 12:51 am

      Hi Laura,

      I’ve considered getting Japanese pattern books to make clothing, I just haven’t gotten around to it. It is definitely an option for those of us who don’t actually want to travel all the way to Japan. 🙂

      I found a woman through friends who offers sewing classes to kids, but also makes custom clothing (wedding dresses, mostly). I plan to enlist her help for my next dress pattern when I can find the time!

      • 30 laura janine February 6, 2010 at 11:07 pm

        There is a nice book called Looking Good by Nancy Nix-Rice that is very helpful in figuring out your body shape and what clothing would flatter you. I met her several years ago and loved her book which was recommended by a friend. See if you can get it through your library.

      • 31 craftapple February 7, 2010 at 12:51 am

        That sounds like an EXCELLENT idea. Thank you!

  17. 32 UK lass in US January 30, 2010 at 10:53 pm

    I think it looks cute, but I can see what you mean. How about shortening it, as that will get rid of quite a bit of volume (as it’s a-line). Maybe if you ironed the pleats right down to the hem, or top-stitched the edges of the pleats they would lie flater – or tack down the underside of the pleats to keep them flatter.

    Yeah, I don’t know what I’m talking about, but it seems a shame for that top to live in the closet.

    • 33 craftapple January 31, 2010 at 2:03 pm

      I did iron the pleats down to the hem. IF (big if) I were to keep it, I’d just sew the pleats together so there would be no pleat. But seriously – it’s just my body. I just have to find out what fits me, and this isn’t it. Don’t worry, I won’t let this sit in the closet. I’ll find some little skinny gal to wear it. 🙂 Like you! You’re skinny, right? Let me know if you’d like to give it a try!

  18. 36 Tiff@ThreePeas January 31, 2010 at 12:11 pm

    When I saw that picture, I thought to myself She’s preggers and didn’t tell us! LOL It looks cute though and I love the fabric!

  19. 38 Melanie January 31, 2010 at 7:11 pm

    It’s a cute top. Do you think that altering the pattern would help? i think this style just looks maternity-ish. Just like with store-bought clothing, it’s just a matter of figuring out what style looks good with your body type. I’m pretty optimist sometimes about styles I think will be okay – only to figure out my body is all wrong for it. But on that peasant top pattern that you might be working on, I did take out that elastic band around the bust – which I think helped. I’m no help really – just babbling here. 🙂

    • 39 craftapple January 31, 2010 at 10:10 pm

      You are right about the style. If only I had listened to that little voice that said, “That is NOT going to be a good look for you.” I was more than optimistic. I think I was bordering on delusional. 🙂 I am going to start on the peasant top tonight. Thanks for the tip about the elastic. I have another top that had elastic around the chest and I just pulled it all out so I may just leave it out.

  20. 40 Lauren April 16, 2010 at 5:55 pm

    Hi.Love the cute maternity top! Looks great….when is the baby due?

    Keep on sewing….Lauren


Leave a Reply

Craft Apple

An apple a day keeps the doctor away, right? Well, crafting is my apple. It's what I do to maintain my sanity while taking care of my family. I homeschool my three boys, ages 12, 13, and 14), am a quilter, a bagaholic, and a pattern designer.
© 2006-2015 Craft Apple Creations

Archives