Oliver Kaboo

Meet my new shadow, Oliver Kaboo.  We like the name Oliver, and Kaboo is after the great missionary Samuel Kaboo Morris who we just studied about in school.  The kids are thrilled with him and I’m confident after he is house-broken and stops howling at night, we’ll get along famously.

oliver kaboo

When this little guy is following me around the house and looking at me like this all the time,

oliver kaboo

I don’t manage to get a lot of sewing done.  That’s when a quick project is called for.  I made this Stand Mixer Cover as a thank you gift.  I’m SOOO hoping she likes it!

KA cover

See those bread pans on the left? I was on a roll before Christmas, making bread for the family a couple of times a week. But since Christmas, I haven’t been able to keep up. I think I’ve made bread once and being out of practice, it wasn’t super tasty. But I am determined to get back into the habit. So the bread pans will sit out until I make another batch.  *Update*  The bread is made!  Blogging about it was a good motivator.  Yeah!

20 Responses to “Oliver Kaboo”


  1. 1 susan February 1, 2010 at 9:06 pm

    Darling!! I love that and your friend will too!

  2. 3 Beth February 1, 2010 at 9:12 pm

    Oliver Kaboo is so cute! And I love his name. Good luck with your bread. I’m out of the habit, too.

    • 4 craftapple February 2, 2010 at 1:11 am

      When I was making bread consistently, it didn’t seem that hard, but now that I’m out of the habit, I can’t figure out how to fit it back in our schedule. Crazy, how that is.

  3. 5 Elaine February 1, 2010 at 11:39 pm

    Your bread pans look like mine. Pampered Chef??? The PC bread pans and pie plate are two of my favorite things!

  4. 7 revel designs February 2, 2010 at 2:27 am

    He is so cute! A tip that we tried to stop the howling is to put a thick sock that you have worn in there with him. I remember it working a little. Maybe that’s why Ziggy feel slike David’s dog! Great Stand Mixer Cover. She’ll love it!

    …and yes I know that I went to your house to pick up coupons and forgot the coupons!!

  5. 9 kashoan February 3, 2010 at 10:33 am

    Blooging is a good motivater! That stand cover turned out cute. Your dog is adorable!!

  6. 10 UK lass in US February 3, 2010 at 11:26 am

    Awww, what a cutie. I’m amazed that you get anything done with that sweet puppy around to play with…

  7. 11 Wendy February 4, 2010 at 2:29 am

    The mixer cover turned out great, and what a sweet new puppy you have!

  8. 12 Bored and Crafty February 4, 2010 at 8:12 am

    Aww what a beauty!
    Did he get some of the bread?🙂

  9. 14 Tiff@ThreePeas February 4, 2010 at 3:04 pm

    OmG look at that face!!! How cute it he. I don’t think I’d get much done having him around. I’d want to cuddle and play with him all day.

  10. 15 Robyn February 5, 2010 at 10:20 pm

    Wow, what a cute puppy! What kind of dog is he? Looks just like my Banjo at that age. She turned all sorts of shaggy as she got older! I’m loving your mixer cover, too!

  11. 16 Debbie February 7, 2010 at 9:15 am

    Oliver Kaboo is just darling. Having a new puppy in the house reminds me of having a new baby in the house – crying at night, up to go potty at dawn and you can’t even run to the bathroom without making sure someone can “Watch the Puppy!”

    • 17 craftapple February 13, 2010 at 2:54 am

      Hi Debbie! Yes, it has been like having a baby, although we went through the baby stage pretty fast and he’s starting to act like a toddler. 🙂 This puppy experience is completely new to me, but we are enjoying it!

  12. 18 Angie Morgan February 7, 2010 at 7:16 pm

    He is so cute. But he needs a friend. You should have bought his brother too😉 Just seeing him sitting on carpet makes me nervous.

    I love the fabric for the mixer cover. I have that pattern but I was waiting for just the right fabric. I’ll see if I can get a yard or two of that print.

    • 19 craftapple February 13, 2010 at 2:56 am

      Miss Angie, I wanted to bring his brother, even when we were in the car leaving the breeder’s house. Believe me, we need new carpet after what this house has been through in the last couple of weeks! See you soon, I hope!

  13. 20 Dayna February 9, 2010 at 11:05 am

    I love the cover! That fabric is so fun. I used it for a patchwork tote for my youngest daughter. I’m rather new to your blog, but I’ve visited once before. I think I was looking for a tutorial.

    It sounds like you may homeschool? I’m in the thirteenth year of homeschooling our five children, and sewing is my favorite therapy, other than exercise.

    By the way, your dog is so adorable! We are dog owners for the first time. I managed to beg my husband to spare me the responsibility for 18 years, but here we are! Yes, that puppy-eye face is (almost) irresistible.

    Congratulations on getting the bread done. I haven’t been able to make it since moving to Moçambique, and I so miss the smell, texture, and taste!

    I’m off to peruse more of your blog!


Leave a Reply

Craft Apple

An apple a day keeps the doctor away, right? Well, crafting is my apple. It's what I do to maintain my sanity while taking care of my family. I homeschool my three boys, ages 12, 13, and 14), am a quilter, a bagaholic, and a pattern designer.
© 2006-2015 Craft Apple Creations

Archives