The Knotted Bag

My latest pattern is here!

 The idea for this bag started way back in August.  I had seen a vintagey dress with a bow in the back and it just looked like it would make a beautiful bag.  (By now you should know that everything looks like a bag to me.)  I’m a bit embarrased by the first few attempts, but I’m incredibly happy with the final product.

And for reasons that I think are obvious, I’m thrilled that I was able to go with a *real* photographer.  Dena did a beautiful job.  The neatest part about using Dena is that I met her through blogging.  It just seemed right that a business that began through blogging gets so much support and help from other bloggers.  Thanks, Dena! 

This is the bag I carried to Quilt Market.  Amy Butler’s Love showed up in my local quilt shop just days before and I was thrilled to have it finished.  You know who commented on it?  Kathy’s mom, that’s who.  And it just made my day!

This one was made with Sweetwater’s Authentic fabric.  Cute as can be!

More Love in decorator weight.  It goes so well with linen.

Oh yeah, the bag comes in 2 sizes.  (Yes, yes, it’s  Love again.)  I just love this picture.  I couldn’t have captured it in a million years.  I guess some people have the eye (and a really nice camera)  and some people just really wish they had the eye for taking really great shots.

My test-sewers are also blog friends.  Shelly and Lara , I couldn’t have done this without you gals!  Thank you!

The pattern, of course, is in the shop

Do you know how hard it was to make a gazillion bags and not post any of them??  Really hard.  And this isn’t all of them.  There are more.  I’ll be listing the ready made bags in the shop as time permits.  And time hasn’t been very permitting (blech!) so it may be a few days.

23 Responses to “The Knotted Bag”


  1. 1 Stephanie Halliday February 10, 2010 at 11:25 pm

    My favorite is in the sweetwater fabric!!!! Loooove it! I want to make it! I’m going bag crazy b/c I wish I had more time to just make fun things like this! About how long does it take to make one of these bags? Thanks for sharing!!!

    • 2 craftapple February 10, 2010 at 11:45 pm

      Hi Stephanie, I am one of the world’s slowest sewer (made slower when I try to watch TV at the same time). It takes me about 3 hours to make one. One of my test sewers finished her first one in 2 hours. I was so jealous.

  2. 3 Junglewife February 10, 2010 at 11:32 pm

    That really is a beautiful bag! I think I may have to break down and buy your pattern!!!

  3. 4 Beth February 10, 2010 at 11:38 pm

    Those are really, really cute bags! And I agree that the photos are great!

  4. 6 Melanie February 11, 2010 at 1:03 am

    You remember who else commented on your cute bag? Amy Butler’s assistant! remember that?!?! She was impressed you had already made something since it had just started shipping!

  5. 8 Kathy February 11, 2010 at 1:52 am

    I’ll definitely be sharing your story with my mom! LOVE your new bag, the design is very, very pretty and I’m certain it’s going to be a best seller. Great photography too! Congrats my friend!

    • 9 craftapple February 11, 2010 at 12:22 pm

      I forgot to mention that having your day made at the greatest place on earth is pretty hard. 🙂 YOU are one of those blessed people that can take fabulous pictures in addition to all the wonderful other things you are so skilled at. Say hi to your mom for me! 🙂

  6. 10 susan February 11, 2010 at 8:18 am

    Great bag!!! Love it! And the photos are fantastic!! Congratulations!

  7. 12 Elaine February 11, 2010 at 9:54 am

    beautiful and oh, so much fun!
    congratulations on yet another grand pattern

  8. 14 Dena Rooney-Berg (Sugar Shop) February 11, 2010 at 6:01 pm

    I just love this bag and I LOVED photographing them. Thanks so much for asking me to do it (and for being so patient). I bet this is going to be an amazing seller for you! XOXO
    ~Dena

  9. 15 UK lass in US February 11, 2010 at 7:53 pm

    What a great bag. I wish I could take photos like that, too.

  10. 16 Bored and Crafty February 13, 2010 at 4:11 pm

    That is the cutest! I love the hat of the model😉

  11. 17 Jenean February 16, 2010 at 10:01 am

    I love this! Really awesome!

  12. 18 laura February 20, 2010 at 9:35 pm

    How did you manage to get Dena (from Sugar Shop) to take your pictures? I read her blog all the time and she is good!! I believe her father was a photographer as well, and if so, she obviously inherited her talent from him. Anyway those pictures are really nice and the bags look beautiful!

  13. 19 Debbie March 2, 2010 at 7:50 pm

    Great design. Allows for plenty of versatility.

    I love how you included two sizes in your pattern because quite frankly that bag looks great in both sizes. I can see why you would need both.

  14. 20 britt March 14, 2010 at 10:38 am

    I found this pattern the other day on Sew, Mama, Sew and LOVE it! I’m really happy it has two size options. This is on the ‘to-sew’ list for sure!


  1. 1 The Knotted Bag « thornberry Trackback on February 11, 2010 at 1:00 am
  2. 2 Sewing Tip: Sewing Curves « Craft Apple Trackback on October 5, 2010 at 1:35 am

Leave a Reply

Craft Apple

An apple a day keeps the doctor away, right? Well, crafting is my apple. It's what I do to maintain my sanity while taking care of my family. I homeschool my three boys, ages 12, 13, and 14), am a quilter, a bagaholic, and a pattern designer.
© 2006-2015 Craft Apple Creations

Archives