Alpaca!

This weekend the CraftApple homeschool took a field trip to the 11th Annual Texas Alpaca Spectacular!  Woo hoo!

alpaca

Isn’t he cute?  How can he see through all that?

If any of you know me, you know that I am a city girl, through and through.  But we are living in Fort Worth – a city known for it’s cattle drives and stock shows.  I haven’t spent much time around animals and going to an alpaca show is something I would never have saw myself doing 5 years ago.  But you bloggers (especially you knitters) have had such an effect on me.  I had such a good time and learned a lot!  My friend Adrienne and I went – and it helped tremendously that she used to raise sheep and goats, made her own wool and owns a loom.

alpaca 9

Let’s see, we’ve got combing, carding, spinning and the show.
Look at those interested boys in the front row.

It was a special bonus that the kids enjoyed it.  Their favorite part (I couldn’t have predicted this) was watching the actual show.  After a couple of minutes of judges looking at teeth and explaining why “I ultimately chose number 4 for the blue ribbon because his coat was slightly thicker…” I was ready to move on, but the kids sat through several rounds.

 alpaca hats!

Of course, the boys all got alpaca hats (which our puppy goes nuts over).

3 Responses to “Alpaca!”


  1. 1 Xue February 16, 2010 at 7:04 pm

    Hi again from Tokyo! Those Alpacas looks really warm & snug.
    Gong Xi Fa Cai !

  2. 3 Ann Dockendorf February 17, 2010 at 4:45 pm

    What a great field trip! I’m originally from Tyler, TX, now living on a farm in Eugene, OR, with our herd of 40 alpacas. They are so interesting and fun, and have a real affinity for kids, and visa versa. We enjoy having homeschool families visit our farm. Spinning and knitting items from our own animals is very fun and satisfying. Glad you all enjoyed the show!


Leave a Reply

Craft Apple

An apple a day keeps the doctor away, right? Well, crafting is my apple. It's what I do to maintain my sanity while taking care of my family. I homeschool my three boys, ages 12, 13, and 14), am a quilter, a bagaholic, and a pattern designer.
© 2006-2015 Craft Apple Creations

Archives