Neglected Clothes

My closet has several outfits in it that I will never wear.  Sure, when I bought them I thought I’d wear them one day, but it just never happened.  Well today, after recovering from the cold that’s making it’s way through our home, I took a long overdue shower and decided I was going to wear that dress – the one that I’ve never worn.  And I’m going to take some pictures of some bags.  Thank goodness for Photoshop taking care of those yucky veins in my legs!

bag3

This is the final bag I made before the pattern was released.  I’ve listed this and some more knotted bags in the shop.

bag2

Above is another bag design I’ve been playing around with.  I like the look, but think it might need a bit more something.

bag1 copy

Then there’s this one.  Same basic design as the Library Tote, but different size.  I love this fabric by Heather Bailey.

button necklace

 

This necklace made the outfit complete.  It’s a silver button, a sweet Christmas gift from Cindy.  It’s the only piece of jewelry I wear besides my wedding ring and I’ve worn it to church every week.  Thanks, Cindy!

I gotta give my son Timo some credit for being willing to snap pictures of his mom wearing her funny clothes in the back yard.  If you’ve got some clothes hiding in your closet, I dare you to put them on and be a model for an  hour.  It was very therapeutic.  I might even have the energy to prepare dinner tonight!  After I change, of course.

23 Responses to “Neglected Clothes”


  1. 1 Jess February 24, 2010 at 6:03 pm

    I like the no name bag😀 Looks like a perfect size!

  2. 3 Mika February 24, 2010 at 6:11 pm

    Oh my gosh I LOVE the library bag as is, those short little handles are SO cute! And the no name bag, looks like a purse I would not only make, but actually CARRY. I’m a no frills kinda girl for the most part, and I just think that is beautiful! Great work! (and so glad to hear you’re feeling better!)

    • 4 craftapple February 24, 2010 at 7:30 pm

      Thanks, Mika! I’ve been wondering if this bag is pattern worthy. I’m a no-frills girls, too, but I’m thinking if it’s going to be a pattern there might need to be a more frilly option. 🙂

  3. 5 cindy February 24, 2010 at 11:13 pm

    You look so cute! Next time wear it out. I’m glad you like your necklace!

  4. 6 susan February 24, 2010 at 11:38 pm

    ooh! I love that Library Tote! Do you have a pattern for that one?

  5. 8 Beth February 25, 2010 at 4:54 pm

    Great idea to get the unused clothes out. And great photos and bags, too!

  6. 10 Tootsie Marie February 25, 2010 at 9:16 pm

    Love the Library tote!!!!! Can-not-wait to get the pattern! The dress is darling, looks great!🙂

  7. 12 Debie February 26, 2010 at 7:42 am

    Oh, I love the Library tote and am so bummed it’s gone! When might we see a pattern?

  8. 14 Bored and Crafty February 27, 2010 at 8:58 am

    From what I can see, that dress is gorgeous. You should wear it every day🙂

  9. 15 laura janine March 1, 2010 at 3:11 pm

    You look so cute in that first picture. What a fun time you and the boys must have had. Did you mark it down as a half hour of credit in art/photography, haha. Boys are fun aren’t they.

  10. 16 samantha hall March 5, 2010 at 9:22 pm

    I love the Liberty tote also. I would add (in addition to the short handles) a removable adjustable long strap to put over the shoulder. I don’t usually buy patterns but I would def buy that one.

  11. 18 UK lass in US March 7, 2010 at 1:26 pm

    They look great, as do you.

    I’m going to be brushing dust off a dress soon as my annual wear a dress evening is approaching: my husband’s getting an award. At least I bought a new dress last summer, so I can amaze them by actually wearing a different dress for once this year. I’ve worn a dress 4 times since getting married in 2001. How sad.

  12. 19 Shannon March 7, 2010 at 10:56 pm

    I love the library tote!

  13. 20 vintagemamasew March 8, 2010 at 6:58 pm

    You said you thought the Library Tote needed something more. I take my 4 kids to the library every week. It would be nice to have bigger straps (maybe 2 options)so when it’s full of heavy books it would be easier to carry. A smaller pocket to slip my wallet into would be nice. That way I don’t have to take my purse and library bag in… just a suggestion. I love the look of it. The fabric is awesome too. Plenty of room for lots of reading🙂

    • 21 craftapple March 9, 2010 at 1:09 pm

      Thanks! I have some pockets on the inside and am planning some strap options. I do think that having it full of books might require something more sturdy – maybe canvas. Good ideas, though! Keep ’em coming! 🙂

  14. 22 Janice April 11, 2010 at 9:03 pm

    I just wanted to leave some Library Tote love as well. Super cute. I really like the simplicity and shape of it. Good work!


Leave a Reply

Craft Apple

An apple a day keeps the doctor away, right? Well, crafting is my apple. It's what I do to maintain my sanity while taking care of my family. I homeschool my three boys, ages 12, 13, and 14), am a quilter, a bagaholic, and a pattern designer.
© 2006-2015 Craft Apple Creations

Archives