Vacation

I don’t often take a vacation without my family, but that’s what I did last week.  I flew to Washington to spend a few days with my sister and her family.  For me it was a *real* vacation – so nice to relax away from my messy house.  Matt watched the boys and, as a nice side benefit, has a new  appreciation for what it means to be a stay-at-home mom. 

We painted a room, 
                                        we shopped,

I got my hair cut (and my eyebrows done for the first time ever),

  I didn’t sew a stitch,
                                      I sewed just a few stitches on Joanna’s industrial Juki.

I read 2 novels (The Color of Water, The Glass Castle),

and got to know my nephews a little bit better.

My sis made me a red bag (she’s got a new Etsy shop: Cecil + Edith),

Red

AND I got new shoes to match.  Those of you who live in the Pacific Northwest may think that Fred Meyer is just another store, but I always get something fun every time I go with my sis.  Thanks for the shoes Fred!

There are so many good reasons to have family that lives close by – reasons that weren’t on my radar 10 years ago.  It was so much easier to travel before we had kids and now that we do, I find myself wishing that they knew their cousins better.  I had so much fun with you, Jo!    Thanks for having me!

***

Winners of the ruler contest are at the end of the last post.  Thanks for playing along!

32 Responses to “Vacation”


  1. 1 Craftycripple March 8, 2010 at 3:06 am

    I adore the bag and shoes. It is hard when you don’t live near family. Especially when you really want your kids to know their cousins. Sometimes I wish I lived round the corner from my brother then I remember how much I love where I live. It is the price we pay for having such a wide choice of how and where we live our lives now.

  2. 3 UK lass in US March 8, 2010 at 7:39 am

    Sounds like you had a great time.

    My kids managed to slot into having a blast with their cousins when we visited home, even though they probably don’t remember the one and only other time that they have met. It really made me wish that we lived nearby. They’d be great friends.

    • 4 craftapple March 8, 2010 at 11:05 pm

      Joanna’s 3 boys are around my boys age. I know they would love playing together. I barely knew my cousins growing up, it’s a shame that it will be the same for my kids.

  3. 5 Beth March 8, 2010 at 7:56 am

    It sounds like you had such a fun time!!!

  4. 7 Cindy March 8, 2010 at 8:46 am

    I wish I lived closer to my sister. I’m always afraid my 2 y.o. nephew won’t remember me.
    BTW, I LOVE the red shoes. Red is my favorite.

    • 8 craftapple March 8, 2010 at 11:07 pm

      I’m a big fan of red, too, but this is the first pair of red shoes I’ve owned (not counting a pair I may have had when I was 2). Hopefully I’ll find something to wear them with!

  5. 9 Joanna March 8, 2010 at 8:58 am

    Isn’t The Color of Water a great book!

    • 10 craftapple March 8, 2010 at 11:08 pm

      It was! It was supposed to last me to the plane ride home, but I finished early because I couldn’t put it down. The Glass Castle is a little more dark and disturbing, but is a pretty good read.

  6. 11 Julie March 8, 2010 at 11:39 am

    THOSE are from Freddies??? Oh my gosh – I think I’m going to have to make a stop on my way home today! 🙂

  7. 16 Ellen Patton March 8, 2010 at 1:30 pm

    I want that red bag. And a sister.

  8. 18 joanna March 8, 2010 at 6:57 pm

    you have the nicest legs. it’s so not fair. miss you! sniff sniff!

  9. 20 meghan simmons March 8, 2010 at 10:07 pm

    I live in Portland, so close to where you were visiting. Isn’t the Glass Castle an amazing book!?! 2 crafty sisters, how fun!

  10. 22 Elaine March 9, 2010 at 4:13 pm

    You probably got in on some beautiful, sunny days too. Yesterday, most of WA had a few snow flurried….Brrrr!
    I love RED and I love Fred Meyer!

    • 23 craftapple March 9, 2010 at 5:05 pm

      The weather WAS gorgeous! I’m glad I missed the snow. My favorite pair of jeans were purchased at Fred Meyer a couple of years ago. I was hoping to get a replacement pair, but it wasn’t to be. I’m loving the shoes, though!🙂

  11. 24 tina March 9, 2010 at 11:24 pm

    i love your shoes!! just in time for spring. =D

  12. 25 Fred Meyer March 10, 2010 at 2:28 pm

    You are welcome.

  13. 26 Jenn March 11, 2010 at 9:27 am

    Love the bag, love the shoes! Love the Pacific NW. I’m exiled in Denver for now. It snows a lot here, and the rain is as likely to destroy your garden as water it. It does have it’s good points, but…
    And the comment from Fred Meyer – LOL.

  14. 27 Tiff@ThreePeas March 11, 2010 at 5:35 pm

    What a cute bag! And I love the shoes. THey go together perfectly!

  15. 28 laura janine March 11, 2010 at 9:56 pm

    Ooooh, a mommy vacation. That is great. My oldest boy is 18 and I just got my first solo vacation. I went to my parents house in NM, a long drive, and Mom and I sewed all week. Dad said I could stay if I wanted. I love that man. And aren’t our husbands so kind to let us go? Speaking of crafted sisters, I have four sisters (five sons of my own now. Slight culture shock) We are doing round-robin quilts with Mom doing the center of each quilt. It is fun. Like you said though, it would be nice to live closer together. I made a dress dummy of my mother with duck tape and expanding insulation so I can sew clothing for her and mail it. It is fun but the funniest thing is she wants me to make sure it always has its cloths on!

  16. 29 Maria March 12, 2010 at 8:00 pm

    Ah! It’s so nice to get away and recharge. LOVE the bag and shoes.

  17. 30 Deece March 16, 2010 at 10:44 pm

    How lovely! I so need a vacation. My sister, her husband, their four kids, and their dog live next door to us. Like 20 feet away next door. I love it and it drives me nuts all at the same time. I adore your new red shoes.

  18. 31 fun Frieda March 18, 2010 at 10:54 am

    The Color of Water – I loved that book! I read it several years ago. I haven’t read The Glass Castle yet, but there’s been plenty of buzz about it in blog-land so I’ve put a request on it at the library. And I DO live in Washington, and I DO love Fred Meyer. They have awesome plain white v-necked t shirts right now for a mere $10.00 ( I bought 2) – haven’t checked to see what their shower curtains are like, but they have a fairly decent, if small, art supply aisle.
    And if you want to revisit the Northwest, “fictionally,” your boys would probably like “To Catch a Mermaid,” by Suzanne Selfors, a Bainbridge Island resident. It’s a mermaid book that’s for boys and girls, but the main character is a boy. I recently put a review of it up on my blog.
    Your blog is lovely, thanks for sharing your creativity with us!

  19. 32 craftapple April 20, 2013 at 3:24 pm

    Yes, the D-rings keep the bag from sinking to the bottom of the trash compartment. They don’t hold the bag open, though. You’ll need to that periodically.


Leave a Reply

Craft Apple

An apple a day keeps the doctor away, right? Well, crafting is my apple. It's what I do to maintain my sanity while taking care of my family. I homeschool my three boys, ages 12, 13, and 14), am a quilter, a bagaholic, and a pattern designer.
© 2006-2015 Craft Apple Creations

Archives