Happy Circles::a happy cushion::

 Joanna told me about this beautiful quilt a few months ago.  It’s beautiful, but alas, no longer available.  Judging by the prices on the site, I imagine this one was a mere $250 in a queen size.  But fear not, fellow sewers!  If you have good biceps and some time, I’m sure you can make one for yourself at a fraction of the cost.  I, on the other hand, don’t have the biceps built up for the task so I decided to try a quilted cushion instead.

dotty cushion

Who knew that a dark background could make such a bold statement?  (and I think I like that tilted shot!)

This one doesn’t really go with the rest of my house.  I signed up to do a craft show in May to try to unload some of my built-up inventory so this one can go in that HUGE pile of stuff.  Anyway, back to the cushion.  The fabrics are from a charm pack I got last year – Soiree, I think it’s called.  The background is Kona cotton in Charcoal.

dotty cushion2 copy

The blanket stitching was done on  the machine.  I intended to use my new circle embroidery attachment, but for various reasons it wasn’t the best choice – not least of all was trying to find the exact center after the circle was fused.  My only regret is that I let my mind wander a couple of times and the blanket stitching strayed – oops.  But it’s all fixable.

dotty cushion3 copy

I put this little fun striped circle on the back because the back really shouldn’t be plain.  It would feel left out, you know.

 
 
 
 
 

More Happy Circles here  and here.

16 Responses to “Happy Circles::a happy cushion::”


  1. 1 Stacey April 12, 2010 at 4:45 am

    Yup, I love it. The blanket stitch makes the cushion. I’m definitely hooked on on the circles this month. I’ll be buying on of those circle attachments, thank you very much!

    • 2 craftapple April 13, 2010 at 12:19 pm

      Hi Stacey, I wasn’t actually able to use the circle attachment for the blanket stitch.😦 There are notches on mine that gauge the size of the circle and my circle was in between two sizes. So I blanket stitched on the machine, but steering by hand. I have had success with other fun circle stitching, though, so I’m not discouraging you from getting one.🙂

  2. 3 Beth April 12, 2010 at 6:52 am

    That’s such a great cushion!

  3. 5 Bethany April 12, 2010 at 8:27 am

    LOVE those fabric choices–the colors are so great!

  4. 7 Amber April 12, 2010 at 8:56 am

    I think your version is much cuter than the original. Love the bright fabrics with dark background. I’ve never thought to use such a dark fabric with other such bright ones, but Im definitely going to have to try it out!

  5. 9 a peppermint penguin April 12, 2010 at 11:50 am

    Me likey!

    I have many foots for my machine. I have nearly all the foots you might use for embroidery or quilting. And which foot was best for blanket stitching circles? The bog standard A foot that is the one all machines come with.

    Plus your description of why the circle attachment didn’t help? Ditto. Ooh, we have so much in common these days – do you collect penguins and drink Peppermint tea too?

    I love that cushion – not keen on pink, but it all goes nicely together and the charcoal is just perfect. The organic shapes on the print with the harsh geometrics of the circles, and the straight lines of the square and the binding… erm, sounding a bit art criticish there… it’s dead good!

    Cheers,
    AJ

    • 10 craftapple April 13, 2010 at 12:43 pm

      You know, I ended up just using my walking foot with the blanket stitch and steered the fabric under the machine. Not sure if your attachment is like mine, but there are noteches on the circle attachment to keep the size of the circle consistent and my circles were in between 2 sizes. Bummer. I don’t collect penguins, but I do drink mint tea quite often. 🙂 Oh, and my favorite little kids song is about a penguin. Have you heard it? Try hereand scroll down. Enjoy!

  6. 12 Allyson McCombs April 13, 2010 at 9:15 am

    So, maybe this is a dumb question but the blanket stitch was something you did by hand right?

    It looks great, and I sort of want to make one right now:)

    Thanks for sharing!

    • 13 craftapple April 13, 2010 at 12:15 pm

      Allyson, I did not do any of the stitching by hand – I can barely use a needle and thread. 🙂 My machine has a stitch that looks like a blanket stitch. I just had to pay attention and make sure it bordered the circle as I was sewing. Not all machines will have that stitch, but a zigzag would look cute as an alternative.

  7. 14 cannwin April 13, 2010 at 12:59 pm

    My sister just emailed me a link to this because I have some wall art that looks similar! I blogged about it and when she saw it she thought of you🙂

    Here: http://cannwin.blogspot.com/2010/04/craft-numero-quatro-4.html

  8. 15 Linda August 24, 2010 at 10:18 am

    I’m a big fan of your blog and for some reason missed this post. I see a lot of talk about the actual sewing, but I was wondering if you have a secret to cut the circles? Do you fold the fabric in 4ths or 8ths and then cut the top portion? Or use a template? Or something else. Just curious because I just bought several Moda Charm packs and thought this would be a great project. Thanks so much!!!


Leave a Reply

Craft Apple

An apple a day keeps the doctor away, right? Well, crafting is my apple. It's what I do to maintain my sanity while taking care of my family. I homeschool my three boys, ages 12, 13, and 14), am a quilter, a bagaholic, and a pattern designer.
© 2006-2015 Craft Apple Creations

Archives