Kid’s Clothes

target tunicEvery once in a while when I’m at Target (which is about the only place I go anymore, it seems) I’ll be walking by the little girl’s clothes and think that’s cute!.  And sometimes, a cute top will come in a size XL (14-16). And sometimes, that XL girl’s item will be on the clearance rack, like the trench coat I got a couple of years ago.

I don’t think there’s anything wrong with shopping in the little girl’s section for clothes. They are almost always cheaper.   While there’s no way I’ll ever fit in an XXL pair of girl’s pants, the tops are sometimes doable. Like this top – with rick rack on the bodice and some lace around the hem. Why do I like this little girl style? I mean, really, I’m getting too old for this, right?

I had to un-criss-cross the straps in the back, but that was it.  Like I said, there doesn’t seem to be anything actually wrong with me walking around in the girl’s section.  But this last time I found  myself nervously looking around making sure no one I knew saw me slip into the dressing room.

23 Responses to “Kid’s Clothes”


  1. 1 Miranda April 16, 2010 at 9:29 pm

    Ha! I thought I was the only one. I agree entirely.
    I usually don’t feel guilty, except in the case of the Miley Cyrus line at Target. I found myself gushing over a few tops. Then I looked at the tag. I hung my head in shame all throughout the checkout line and cut the tags off as soon as I got home.😉

    • 2 craftapple April 16, 2010 at 9:41 pm

      Oooo- I must have missed the Miley line! The nice thing about the checkout person is they don’t know that you aren’t shopping for your daughter. I’m more worried about people I know because they know I have only sons. 🙂

  2. 3 Kristi April 16, 2010 at 9:34 pm

    Hi Linda! Yes, I do that, too…. I like to actually shop at Goodwill in the girls’ section🙂

    • 4 craftapple April 17, 2010 at 11:28 am

      Goodwill? Even better! I hadn’t thought of doing that. When we lived in Michigan, Goodwill was such a great deal. The one that I’ve been to near us seems a bit pricey for a Goodwill so I haven’t gone very much. I’ll bet the kids clothes are a better deal.

  3. 5 Bethany April 16, 2010 at 9:41 pm

    If I could fit in them I’d buy them–sometimes the stuff is jsut so much cuter!

  4. 7 Fred Meyer April 16, 2010 at 10:34 pm

    Ha! I knew it. I specifically tell my purchasers for the juniors department to stock items that will appeal to middle aged women.

  5. 9 caitlyn April 17, 2010 at 12:34 am

    I can totally relate!
    I used to buy my jeans at GapKids, because with the “hidden” waistband they totally worked for me. Nowaways, though, their jeans look too kiddish so I can’t pull it off anymore.
    Last month I bought a Liberty of London skirt from the girls’ section of Target. 🙂

  6. 11 Jess April 17, 2010 at 1:55 am

    I totally do that too! I’ve gotten some cute tops from the girls sections @ Target & the Gap!

  7. 13 Adrianna April 17, 2010 at 6:42 am

    Yep, this is a great and little known trick. Also gives me at least 1 thing to be thankful for having a flat chest.

  8. 15 Carolyn April 17, 2010 at 11:01 am

    Great top Linda……..my adult daughter does this too, but as a teacher she worries that someday a student will be wearing the same top…….teehee

  9. 17 UK lass in US April 17, 2010 at 11:59 am

    I was a few pounds lighter last year and couldn’t find jeans that fit, so my friend recommended their junior jeans (she said that they didn’t have glitter butterflies all over the butt like they do in most junior departments). Still, I was pretty sure that their junior jeans are not designed for people whose hips have been through childbirth, so I invested in a belt instead.

    Some of the tops are cute, mind. I doubt that they’ll fit, though. I should just start sewing for myself and stop bemoaning the fact that store-stuff rarely fits. I’ll be trawling the juniors section for inspiration…

    • 18 craftapple April 20, 2010 at 11:34 am

      My favorite pair of jeans is a pair I got in the junior’s section. It’s rare that I’ll find ones there that fit (I also blame these hips that have been through childbirth!), but I was thrilled with the way these fit. I went back for more later and couldn’t find them. 😦

  10. 19 revel designs April 17, 2010 at 1:32 pm

    well, that’s one problem I’ll never have!

  11. 20 Shannon April 19, 2010 at 6:22 pm

    If it was pastel pink with teddy bears and lace, then you might want to worry!😀

    Honestly, kids’ clothes today sadly look like adult clothes. Good for you since you can wear them, but I miss kids looking like kids. If you hadn’t said you got it in the girls’ section, I never would have known.

    One of my aunts was very petite. Very short and slim, and this was only a few weeks after she had a baby. When the family commented on how good she looked, she told us that she recently picked up a pair of jeans and didn’t realize until she started to button them up that they were her son’s jeans. He was about 8 at the time. You aren’t the only person running around in kids’ clothes.

    • 21 craftapple April 20, 2010 at 11:47 am

      You know, I hadn’t thought about that – but you’re right. If I had daughters, it might be a challenge to dress them. Your aunt’s story is funny. If it were me, I would have figured out the jeans belonged to my 8 year old son when my ankle got stuck in the pant leg. My oldest is 8 and has the skinniest legs. 🙂

  12. 22 Angie April 21, 2010 at 1:14 pm

    I think the top is adorable. I love the ruffles in the front. Although, I did think the fabric should have been circles to keep the theme going😉

  13. 23 pointandshout1 June 10, 2010 at 2:37 am

    Yes, i am totality agree that we should shop in girls section.


Leave a Reply

Craft Apple

An apple a day keeps the doctor away, right? Well, crafting is my apple. It's what I do to maintain my sanity while taking care of my family. I homeschool my three boys, ages 12, 13, and 14), am a quilter, a bagaholic, and a pattern designer.
© 2006-2015 Craft Apple Creations

Archives