I did a show.

My business is creating sewing patterns, but once every year or two, I find myself with enough inventory to do a craft show. Thankfully, I have a friend who does frequent craft shows that doesn’t mind me tagging along with her every once in a while.  I gotta say that Cindy is quite the booth designer.  If I knew anyone who could put together a book on creating an inviting booth that was filled with items but not cluttered, it would be her (hint, hint!).

I also gotta say I think we had the cutest booth in the joint (is that too honest?).   Cute booth, but bad pictures.  *sigh*  Maybe it’s time for a new camera.

I have things like an Ikea shelf, wire baskets, and dress forms.   Cindy has cool things like a vintage window pane, a rug, and tubs with chalkboard paint labels. 

Craft Apple / Revel Designs Booth

The flooring at the show venue wasn’t exactly beautiful.  Cindy’s rug really lightened the booth up.

Craft Apple / Revel Designs Booth

In all honesty, this was not a good show.  Even seasoned craft show sellers did poorly.  How do I know this?  Because vendors talk to eachother, that’s why.  And  chatting with other people in the business is one of the great things about doing shows.  I just wish it had been a better show.  I had never visited this show before because this was it’s first year.  Gotta say, lesson learned – don’t sign up to do a show that you don’t have any experience with.

Since I’ve changed the size of my patterns since the last show, I had to get a new suitcase to display them in.  The vintage suitcase was purchased on Etsy.  I just fused some polka dots to the inside cover.

Suitcase Display

We met an artist with the cutest screenprints for sale.  I had to buy this one (availabe in the etsy shop here).

bees things

Purchasing the print on Saturday and getting it into a frame a few days later says a lot about how much I like it.  Now if I can find an ounce of space on my craft room wall to hang it, I’d be set.

12 Responses to “I did a show.”


  1. 1 Beth May 12, 2010 at 9:00 pm

    I’m sorry the show wasn’t good. I’ve only ever done one show and it was lousy. I found out the same way you did – the other vendors told me how bad it was compared to other years.

    Your booth really does look great! I love that suitcase.

    • 2 craftapple May 13, 2010 at 12:59 pm

      You know, I’ve never had huge success at shows – and what I consider success isn’t a lot compared to the professional show vendors who make thousands in a weekend. I always remind myself I’m doing it for fun and I always do have fun. There was a booth next to us that was selling puffy, very stretchy t-shirts that seemed to be getting some business, but I don’t want to sell T shirts that I purchased wholesale. Selling handmade crafts can be hard – I think that’s just how they are. That’s why sites like Etsy are so nice. 🙂

  2. 3 Bethany May 12, 2010 at 9:29 pm

    Oh, that’s a shame! You had a lovely booth!
    My first show I did sounds like yours–it was very disappointing and I thought it was because I was a newbie but very few people did well so I didn’t feel terrible.

    • 4 craftapple May 13, 2010 at 1:01 pm

      I think the very nature of shows makes them hard for the handmade crafter. Too often customers are looking for a deal. Vendors want to be paid for their time. I think finding a balance between the 2 is hard for a craft show organizer to do. I’ve seen it work out well in rare cases. That’s why I’m kicking myself for signing up for a show I’d never done. *sigh* It was fun, though. I’ll just try to be smarter next time. 🙂

  3. 5 revel designs May 13, 2010 at 12:46 am

    Your company makes it all worth it!! I had a great time and I’ll never think about my booth the same way after seeing how it looked that day!

  4. 7 UK lass in US May 13, 2010 at 9:44 am

    I’m sorry to hear that the show was lousy, but your booth did look lovely. I go online and see all these wonderful crafters selling great stuff at shows, but the only tiny neighbourhood ones that I’ve found around here seem to be full of jewellery and dried flowers…

    • 8 craftapple May 13, 2010 at 1:05 pm

      Yes, jewelry seems to be all over at shows. Oddly, I hardly wear any jewelry so those booths don’t appeal to me. I had a jewelry booth set up across from me at my last show (2 years ago) and she made thousands every weekend. BUT, she was also very organized and did shows every weekend. For the occasional craft show vendor (like myself), it would be very hard to pull off.

  5. 9 Kashoan May 13, 2010 at 12:43 pm

    Your craft area is very inviting! So bright and cherry. Love that print that you found.🙂

  6. 11 Barb May 14, 2010 at 8:53 am

    Love the booth….sounds like a perfecting coupling! I have a couple of my own designs that I need to do commercial patterns on ~ just so intimidating. Some day I may just jump in and do it!

  7. 12 fine art t-shirts January 11, 2014 at 5:34 pm

    Wow, tyis post
    is nice, my sister is analyzing these kinds off things, therefore I am going to
    let know her.


Leave a Reply

Craft Apple

An apple a day keeps the doctor away, right? Well, crafting is my apple. It's what I do to maintain my sanity while taking care of my family. I homeschool my three boys, ages 12, 13, and 14), am a quilter, a bagaholic, and a pattern designer.
© 2006-2015 Craft Apple Creations

Archives