A Good Day.

I’m always wishing there were more hours in the day to get things done.  Today was one of those days – definitely a good day.

We finished school early.  Then soccer was cancelled.  Last night’s leftovers were enough to feed us one more meal.  Suddenly the day felt longer.

We went to the park – not our normal park, but one of those special parks that the kids don’t get to go to very often because it’s far away.

I spun the kids in the tire swing.  Then sat while they played.  I got to think.  I got to sketch some ideas.  The kids climbed trees.  We walked on some trails and dodged the flowering cactus.  I introduced the kids to shy grass and they got a kick out of dancing on a bunch of it and watching the leaves fold in.

Life felt simple for the first time in a long time.  It was a great day to be a mom.

No camera, no pictures.  Simple day, simple post. 

Here’s to good days.

17 Responses to “A Good Day.”


  1. 3 thornberry May 13, 2010 at 9:47 pm

    Linda, those days are simply the best! Sounds superb.

  2. 5 Beth May 13, 2010 at 10:14 pm

    Your day sounds wonderful! I love days like that.

  3. 7 Becky May 14, 2010 at 8:09 am

    Someday this will be a cherished memory for you and your kids. Lovely!!

  4. 9 Barb May 14, 2010 at 8:51 am

    Sounds like a perfectly wonderful day. I think we all need more of those days.

    • 10 craftapple May 14, 2010 at 11:40 am

      We really do! How do I let our family get all caught up in the craziness of life? I never intended for it to be like this, but we’re always running to soccer, piano, or whatever.

  5. 11 Kashoan May 14, 2010 at 10:22 am

    Those are the kind of days I look forward to. Im glad you got to have one, you deserve it!

  6. 14 Melissa May 14, 2010 at 2:50 pm

    I love days like that. Thanks for sharing yours!

    Also, I have never heard of “shy grass”. I was in Indonesia recently and was shown a similar sounding ground cover. The name translated was “princess catcher”–or something like that. I had no idea that my own country has something similar. Cool!

  7. 15 Freda Tong May 15, 2010 at 9:35 am

    So glad you had a nice day. You deserved it!

  8. 16 Debra May 16, 2010 at 7:12 pm

    I love days with “found” time. It makes me almost feel like I am playing hookie on the day to day grind.

  9. 17 Freda Tong May 17, 2010 at 2:00 pm

    I wonder whether your good day had anything to do with the fact that your boys are getting bigger and no longer depend on Mommy for every little thing. They had trees to climb, shy grass to trample and room to roam in a special park! Maybe you will have more days like this from now on. Wouldn’t that be nice!


Leave a Reply

Craft Apple

An apple a day keeps the doctor away, right? Well, crafting is my apple. It's what I do to maintain my sanity while taking care of my family. I homeschool my three boys, ages 12, 13, and 14), am a quilter, a bagaholic, and a pattern designer.
© 2006-2015 Craft Apple Creations

Archives