Dreams

Sometimes it’s good to put my dreams on paper.  Sometimes it makes me realize that what I want is actually doable.  Like when we moved into our current house and there were certain things that needed to be done to it.  I wrote a list and made some estimates and it turned out the things on the list were indeed within the budget.  Other times, writing out my dreams makes me realize how absolutely un-doable my dreams are.  Like today.  I thought it would be fun to create the perfect studio.  One major problem I have right now is that I have 10 projects going on at the same time and they are in various stacks around the sewing room and guest room.  What I really want (notice I didn’t say need) is 10 tables to spread each project out on so that I can find the project I want when I have time to work on it and the space to spread each project out.  Okay,  maybe 10 tables is a bit extreme.  Let’s try 5.  So I started creating a room, putting in all the other things that would make my studio perfect.

dream studio

And what did I get? 4 work tables, complete with cutting mats and tool caddies – it turns out I can’t even fit 5 in my dream studio -ha!  I put in a place for a sewing machine and my imaginary serger.  There’s a cushy chair to sketch in or read up on magazines.  My laptop is closeby so if I want to bring it to the chair to get caught up on blog reading I can do that.  There’s plenty of shelving to hold my stash and even a nice place to store the boxes and shipping supplies that I need to send out patterns.
So when it was all said and done, did I design a studio that could ever work in real life? 

No.  I didn’t.

Can you see why?

Do you see it?  Or rather, do you see what’s missing?

THERE’S NO DOOR.

It turns out that even in my imaginary world, I’d need a room that is larger than this one, which by best estimates would need to be at least 12′ x 16′.  Um anyone got an extra bag of gold lying around to make this dream a reality?  :)  And as I was selfishly thinking all about myself, it turns out that I realized I hadn’t factored the kids into the picture.  Wouldn’t it be nice to have a corner dedicated to the kid’s crafts?  It would be nice to spend some time with them – that is one of the primary reasons I’m a SAHM.  Maybe I’ll take that imaginary bag of gold and buy another house just for the creative endeavors of myself and my kids.

Or,  better yet,  maybe I’ll reevaluate the blessings I have and appreciate them more fully: children that are happy (usually – he he), a husband who loves and supports me, a house that maybe isn’t a studio, but IS a comfortable place to live.

I can see that this studio won’t be a reality anytime soon, but it’s nice to have it all out there – to see what’s really fluff and what’s really necessary.  I suppose if I could just pick one thing out, it would be to have an extra space for unfinished projects.  Yes.  That would be nice. 

What does your dream studio look like?

28 Responses to “Dreams”


  1. 1 Vicki W May 18, 2010 at 5:08 pm

    That looks like it was a fun exercise! I determined that I really need about 5000 square feet for my dream studio. lol!

  2. 3 Catherine May 18, 2010 at 5:14 pm

    Thank you for inspiring me to get a few things on paper. I really need to look at my dreams and see what’s doable.

    My dream studio has A LOT of windows and light, a worn wood floor, a crazy comfortable rug, lots of hidden storage, a cozy chair and half, and more workspace than you’d think one human could need…maybe surround sound or a large wallmounted computer screen…oh, and a view of the ocean. Sound like too much?😉

  3. 5 Beth May 18, 2010 at 5:15 pm

    When you said “there is no door” I wondered what was wrong with that. 🙂 I totally love being with my family but whenever I’m in my room, I don’t want to leave it. So having no door would be good…until I needed chocolate!

    Do you have room to carve out some space in your current room for your unfinished projects?

  4. 7 Jena May 18, 2010 at 5:19 pm

    It’s nice to dream. Even if we can’t have what we want. I mean at least half of the fun is in planning and dreaming. If we had everything we wanted, what would we do? What would we look forward to? Keep dreaming, it’s what makes life fun.

  5. 9 Elena May 18, 2010 at 6:58 pm

    lol, you are too much! I often think about a dream studio and even keep a list in my iphone of features I would like, so I don’t forget. The hubby and I buy lotto tickets every week…it’s not gambling, it’s just buying some hope and the right to dream with the thought it might someday happen🙂

  6. 11 revel designs May 18, 2010 at 8:16 pm

    I can’t believe how much time you put into this! I like how detailed it is. Even your laptop is at a stylish slant!

  7. 13 UK lass in US May 18, 2010 at 8:40 pm

    To be honest, I’d settle for any room to call a studio. I’ve been feeling happy that my husband hasn’t noticed that when I rearranged the dining room / computer desk, I hid my sewing basket and sewing machine out here. It’s made it a lot easier to craft when I only have to drag it out from a few feet away, rather than from my bedroom… Still, I keep trying to stop myself fantasizing about kicking one one of the kids out so that I have a room to play with.

    • 14 craftapple May 18, 2010 at 10:16 pm

      Yes, today I find myself thinking that we don’t need a dining room, or a guest room, or a school room… he he. I definitely sewed more when my sewing machine was in a place where it stayed out. It used to be stored in our bedroom and getting it out was such a chore. I’m glad you’ve found something that works better for you!

  8. 15 Shelly May 18, 2010 at 8:59 pm

    I personally thought that the fabric storage area was way too small – and what about notions???? But it’s fun to dream.

    • 16 craftapple May 18, 2010 at 10:14 pm

      I guess I didn’t mention that the shelves would be floor to ceiling. And yes, if I could have squeezed more shelving onto my canvas, I would have.🙂 I was walking around the house today thinking that maybe we don’t really need a dining room…

  9. 17 Michelle May 18, 2010 at 10:58 pm

    What about the ironing board? I’m actually quite lucky in that I have a desk that fits my sewing machine and laptop and another table that (almost) fits my vutting mat plus a wall-hanging tool caddy above it. But I can’t find a good spot to fit the ironing board, it always ends up blocking something (the closet, the window, the futon, my husband’s desk…

    I just dream of a shelf devoted to trays holding each of my in-progress projects. And ironing board space.

    • 18 craftapple May 18, 2010 at 11:08 pm

      Aaaack! How could I forget the ironing board?!?!? My ironing board right now doesn’t fit in the sewing room so it’s in the guest room most of the time and I spend a LOT of time going back and forth between the rooms. There were a few other things I needed to add to my studio. Maybe in the next go ’round. 🙂

  10. 19 Joanna May 19, 2010 at 5:19 am

    I think your dream studio is totally awesome! Even with no door. Lock yourself in there and NEVER COME OUT!! Aaahhhahahahahahahahahaha!! Okay, maybe you need to eat…and feed your kids. Alright, so maybe you need a door. It’s still a really cook sketch though!

  11. 20 Joanna May 19, 2010 at 5:19 am

    I meant cool…not cook. Cool = something I am not; cook = something I do all the time.

  12. 21 Freda Tong May 19, 2010 at 1:35 pm

    I have been working on my study/craft room. It isn’t large enough, of course, but before I was always moving back and forth from one side to the other to get things. There is still too much stuff and not enough room, but it is better organized and things pretty much stay on the side of the room where they get used. This is probably as good as it’s going to get.

  13. 22 laubao May 20, 2010 at 7:37 am

    Hello!!
    I’ve just found your blog and I like it a lot!!
    I’ll add it to my blog-list!
    Greetins from Italy!!
    Laura

  14. 23 Elaine May 22, 2010 at 9:32 am

    NEVER stop dreaming!

  15. 24 Laura May 24, 2010 at 5:07 pm

    Wonderful. Remember a lock on the door so the children stop using your scissors and forgetting to put them back. I put a lock on my sewing closet door to keep out curious little hands. I still have to move things around when I do a project. I asked my eldest boy if I could move my sewing into his room this fall when he goes to college. The sweet boy said I could share his space!

  16. 25 a peppermint penguin May 27, 2010 at 6:25 am

    “what does your dream studio look like?”

    A: The house next door!

    Such a pity there are people already living there!?

    For some reason my blog roll didn’t tell me about your last 3 posts until today.

    Cheers,
    AJ

  17. 26 Sheila May 28, 2010 at 11:49 am

    Who needs a door?

  18. 28 colour du jour June 23, 2010 at 10:48 pm

    this all had me smiling, I probably have the dream studio–the whole downstairs daylight living room that is next to my sew-room. if only I could get rid of that awful old carpet and a little furniture…


Leave a Reply

Craft Apple

An apple a day keeps the doctor away, right? Well, crafting is my apple. It's what I do to maintain my sanity while taking care of my family. I homeschool my three boys, ages 12, 13, and 14), am a quilter, a bagaholic, and a pattern designer.
© 2006-2015 Craft Apple Creations

Archives