Meghan Peasant Top

Cleaning the sewing room can yield fun surprises.  Like this Meghan Peasant Top that was almost done – just needed hemming.  Found it just in time for summer!  How did I let this get buried?

Meghan top

Just a couple of comments:

  • I made this out of double gauze fabric – nice and breezy for hot summers.  Print is from Heather Ross’ Far Far Away collection by Kokka.  I have a few yards extra that I listed in the shop.  Sold!
  • I’m really not this tan – in order to get the white to show up, my arms got all dark.  And what can a Photoshop novice do?  Post it as is, that’s what.
  • Did you know that straight on shots don’t always look so flattering?  I didn’t until now.  Also, putting my arm on my hip gave me a little definition in the arm.  I think I need to start lifting weights to define those biceps.

The pattern is downloadable (available  here and here).  Not super hard, but I had to spend quite a bit of time taping all the pieces together.  Only change that was recommended to me by a couple of people was to cut the elastic longer than it calls for, then finding the right fit so that it isn’t too tight.  I’m glad I did, ‘cuz who wants the blood supply to be cut off from their arms?  Not me.

18 Responses to “Meghan Peasant Top”


  1. 1 Shannon May 28, 2010 at 1:26 pm

    Cute top! It does look perfect for summer.🙂

  2. 3 Bethany May 28, 2010 at 1:47 pm

    How DID you let that get buried? that’s super-adorable!

  3. 5 Beth May 28, 2010 at 1:56 pm

    Very cute! What a great surprise to find an almost finished top!

  4. 7 kathy May 28, 2010 at 2:36 pm

    That double gauze has got to be absolutely dreamy to wear! You used my absolute favorite print from that collection. The top looks fabulous!

  5. 9 Joanna May 28, 2010 at 3:05 pm

    Very cute!! It looks like a pattern I have for the girls that I use all the time, only it’s for pajamas. I bet I could alter the pattern and make a shirt like that for me. Hmmm…I may very well be inspired. And the fabric, I agree, I really pretty.

  6. 13 Cindy May 28, 2010 at 7:09 pm

    Adorable. What a perfect top for summer. Love the fabric too.

  7. 15 Melanie May 29, 2010 at 12:21 pm

    It looks great!!! The print is really cute. I really disliked the double gauze when I used it….now you’re making me think I just picked the wrong pattern for it.

  8. 16 UK lass in US May 30, 2010 at 10:47 am

    Yopu’re going to have me walking around with my hands on my hips, trying to stand at an angle when I meet people…

    That top looks gorgeous. I’m wondering if this is the summer that I might make something for myself for once, but I don’t think that I’d suit a peasant top. Shame, beacause they’re nice and easy to make and I love the way that they look on my daughter – and you.

  9. 17 Laura June 3, 2010 at 10:45 am

    Very cute!


Leave a Reply

Craft Apple

An apple a day keeps the doctor away, right? Well, crafting is my apple. It's what I do to maintain my sanity while taking care of my family. I homeschool my three boys, ages 12, 13, and 14), am a quilter, a bagaholic, and a pattern designer.
© 2006-2015 Craft Apple Creations

Archives