Purging – Giving

We’re home. 

We’ve been living out of suitcases for a month, in someone else’s apartment, and it was so good.  It was good to live simply.  It was good to be reliant on my legs to get me places rather than the minivan.  We’d been home just a day when I started to feel overwhelmed by all the stuff around me.  Stuff that we lived without for a month – stuff that obviously isn’t necessary.  I am in need of a good purging.

So I’m starting off with a few crafty books.  Some are new, some are gently used.  Instead of leaving comments open for a few days, I’m just going to give the items away to the first people that want them.  Six items, six people. 

1. Machine Made Patchworks (Japanese edition)
 THE original Japanese craft book IMO.  Published in 2006, it’s still feels amazingly fresh.  This one I got in Taiwan for less than $4. Yep, I got one for myself, too.

2.  2011 Sewing Calendar
Some of my tutorials are in here along with many other bloggers that you’ll recognize.

3.  Sew What! Skirts
Fine book, just not really me.

4. Denyse Schmidt Quilts
Great book – lots of inspiration.  Just haven’t cracked it in a year.  It’s time for a new home.

5. Free-Style Handmade Bags & Skirts (English edition)
I think this one is out of Korea.  Cute stuff, but a little too cutting edge for my taste.

6. Sewing Bits & Pieces
This one’s fairly new and I’m sure you all have seen and heard about it.
Sewing Bits and Pieces

And now I’m off to sleep away some jetlag…

Update:  All the books have been claimed.  That was fun – I felt like I was a game show host!  Thanks for the offers to cover shipping, but no worries, these can all go media mail.  3 cheers for purging!

31 Responses to “Purging – Giving”


  1. 1 julia July 29, 2010 at 8:33 pm

    I would take either of the books on skirts…. I’ve read the Sew What Skirts one already….. so maybe the other one?🙂 If I got it that would be so cool!
    ~Julia

  2. 3 Autum July 29, 2010 at 8:33 pm

    Hi!! What a generous offer. I’d love the Handmade bags and skirts book if it isn’t spoken for. I’ll gladly pay the shipping cost.

  3. 5 AshleyM July 29, 2010 at 8:34 pm

    I cannot actually believe this is happening! Am I one of the first commenters? You are so sweet for giving away your things. My friend and I have been talking a lot lately about having too many *things* and how it gets overwhelming. She wants to move to Indonesia and forget everything…I would love the Sewing Bits & Pieces book. I would like to find a way to use some of the scraps my Grandmother left me.

    Thank you!!!

  4. 7 vanessa July 29, 2010 at 8:35 pm

    I would love the denise schmidt or the machine made patchworks! Awesome!

    • 8 craftapple July 29, 2010 at 8:44 pm

      I’m putting your down for Denyse Schmidt Quilts, since you mentioned it first. If you’d rather get the other one, tell me before it’s claimed! Send me your address – my email is on the blog sidebar.

  5. 9 Christie July 29, 2010 at 8:35 pm

    I would LOVE the calendar! Looks inspiring and fun🙂 Let me know if you want me to pay for shipping!

  6. 11 Louisa July 29, 2010 at 8:35 pm

    I agree what a generous offer! I would love to check out Sewing Bits and Pieces.

  7. 13 Christie July 29, 2010 at 8:36 pm

    PS…in my haste, I forgot to say thanks! I have been cleaning up my sewing space and could stand to purge a bit too!

  8. 15 Anna and Sarah E. July 29, 2010 at 8:40 pm

    We would like the calendar if it is not claimed yet! It would be really neat hanging in our bedroom🙂
    Anna and Sarah (Julia’s sisters)

    • 16 craftapple July 29, 2010 at 8:47 pm

      That’s so sweet that Julia sent you guys over! The calendar was claimed by an earlier commenter. Let me know if you have a second choice: right now, it’s Sew What! Skirts, or Machines Made Patchworks.

  9. 17 Rene July 29, 2010 at 8:48 pm

    DO you still have this one “Sew What! Skirts??”

  10. 20 Tammy July 29, 2010 at 8:48 pm

    Ooh, I’d love the Machine Made Patchwork if it’s still available!

  11. 23 Sylvie July 30, 2010 at 12:55 am

    It looks like I woke up too late… Congratulations to the lucky “winners”, and THANK YOU Craftapple !

  12. 24 Apryl July 30, 2010 at 3:19 am

    aww pants sorry I missed out on the fun… and new books to oggle. I probably need to do a bit of a purge here too… not so much the crafty stuff but the garage is now filled with old furnature and the attic is in a state.

  13. 25 Allyson McCombs July 30, 2010 at 9:07 am

    I would love Number 4 if it’s not taken!

  14. 26 UK lass in US July 30, 2010 at 10:42 am

    Welcome back from your travels. I always like how I immediately revert to walking and cycling to places when I go home. I’m miserable when left without a car – and its AC – in the summer here, mind…

  15. 27 Cindy July 31, 2010 at 8:56 am

    You are an example to us all. There should be more purging here.

  16. 28 Dana Nichols August 4, 2010 at 2:12 pm

    I just found your blog and I am so happy! I’m enjoying reading!

  17. 29 Beth August 5, 2010 at 11:33 am

    Welcome home! It sounds like you had a great trip.

  18. 30 Jenn August 11, 2010 at 10:53 am

    I am inspired. Purging (when kids go back to school) and doing a giveaway of my own. What a great idea, cleaning out is so liberating!

  19. 31 Ready to paint ceramics October 7, 2010 at 7:38 pm

    You know, I wish that here in the U.S. they had more places in walking distance so that we wouldn’t have to drive these pollution hunks of metal…

    Would you recommend a book that will give me ideas on how to recycle old clothing? Thanks!


Leave a Reply

Craft Apple

An apple a day keeps the doctor away, right? Well, crafting is my apple. It's what I do to maintain my sanity while taking care of my family. I homeschool my three boys, ages 12, 13, and 14), am a quilter, a bagaholic, and a pattern designer.
© 2006-2015 Craft Apple Creations

Archives