School Assignment Pockets

I’ve been getting ready for a new year of school around here.  All summer I’ve been thinking about how to get my two 4th graders a little more independent in their schooling, mainly so I can spend more time working with my youngest, a 2nd grader.  I’ve come up with an idea:  School Assignment Pockets.

School PocketsChair shown for scale.

School subjects are across the top and each child has his own row.  Each week (or each day, I haven’t decided yet), I’ll fill out their little white papers and stick them in the pockets.

School Pockets

Then, as they get done with their assignments, they can put them in their very own “finished” pocket.  I tried to make the finished pockets a bit more fun.

School Pockets

My hope is that this will help them see the volume of assigments that they have and give them a little motivation to get working.  Of course, what I hope for and what unfolds in the reality of our homeschool is not always the same.  And yet I remain hopeful.  One more crazy-hot week of summer, then it’s back into school for us.

Notes on the project:
* Pockets are clear rigid vinyl, cut with a rotary cutter and stitched with a  stitch length of 3mm. 
* Base is fabric around stabilizer.

21 Responses to “School Assignment Pockets”


  1. 1 Bethany August 15, 2010 at 12:10 am

    That’s really adorable!!

  2. 3 Shelly August 15, 2010 at 7:14 am

    I’ve been trying something similar with my 1st grader. Although, not as crafty. I use the workbox method. Each of the boxes has a number (actually a NASCAR with a number) and then they put the #s on a board when they are finished – with the final car going in victory lane. May adopt something like yours after reading becomes better.

    • 4 craftapple August 15, 2010 at 9:47 pm

      Yes, I can see how Nascars could be motivating! Last year our school day just seemed to drag on and on, with the kids asking me, “What’s next?”. I’m hoping this year that they can see what is next and do the independent stuff independently.

  3. 5 UK lass in US August 15, 2010 at 9:07 am

    It looks perfect – I like the cars.

    My school prep started this morning: I had to google ‘scooter’ to find out that it’s a skirt with shorts attached. I’m sure my kids will be forever grateful that I don’t homeschool if I can’t even interpret a uniform guideline…

  4. 10 Beth August 15, 2010 at 2:49 pm

    Very cute! I hope you and your children will have a wonderful year of learning!

  5. 12 Debbie August 16, 2010 at 8:28 am

    What a cute idea!

    I miss the days of homeschooling! I remember doing something similar (thought not as cute) and awarding stars for completed assignments. Who ever had the most stars at the end of the week could choose where we were going on our field trip.

    I thought a scooter was a three wheeled moped…

  6. 13 DDinDFW August 17, 2010 at 6:54 am

    This would work for us (not homeschooling), too, by helping us remember to do those standing assignments like memory verses on Wednesday and spelling/vocab on Friday. We could put slips in on Sunday night when it’s time to start memory work, and then pull them out when we’re done. I might have to work on something like this… but it probably won’t be as cute.

  7. 14 Stephanie August 20, 2010 at 9:38 pm

    What a cute idea! I love this!

  8. 15 Emily August 27, 2010 at 2:12 pm

    This is such a great idea. I don’t have kids (yet!) but need to start storing these ideas up for the future. I’ll definitely be resorting to blogland for all my creative parenting ideas! Ha!

  9. 16 Elisabeth August 28, 2010 at 11:49 am

    This is a really nice idea. Anything to give them accountability.

    Elisabeth

  10. 17 Jena (Organizing Mommy) August 30, 2010 at 2:11 am

    That’s a big school day! Nice job on the holder! Beautiful job, as usual.

  11. 18 rosieroyalty August 31, 2010 at 5:36 pm

    Very creative & organized. Kids love to see the progress they are making. This system would work great for kids with weekly/daily chores at home too.

  12. 19 Joy September 4, 2010 at 6:19 pm

    what a wonderful idea for the children but how about adapting it for the sewing room

  13. 20 Laura September 15, 2010 at 4:02 pm

    Is it working?

    • 21 craftapple September 15, 2010 at 4:39 pm

      Hi Laura,

      It is! The kids go over to the pockets and check their assignments in the morning. I’ve been writing everything for the week out on Monday and filling the pockets. Sometimes, if there are 3 assignments in one subject they’ll decide to put it off until the end of the week. Then I have to remind them that getting it done early will keep Friday a lighter school day. 🙂 It took a couple of weeks for them to get used to it, but putting the cards in the finished pockets has become motivating. I’ve been using old business cards (I have thousands) to write on and at this rate, we may actually use them up!

      This year (4th grade x 2 and 2nd grade x 1) seems to be easier than last. I can’t completely credit the assignment pockets, but it’s been a great year so far. Hope your year is going well also!

      God bless,

      Linda


Leave a Reply

Craft Apple

An apple a day keeps the doctor away, right? Well, crafting is my apple. It's what I do to maintain my sanity while taking care of my family. I homeschool my three boys, ages 12, 13, and 14), am a quilter, a bagaholic, and a pattern designer.
© 2006-2015 Craft Apple Creations

Archives