Quilting = Happy

Sometimes I just need to quilt. It’s relaxing. It’s (mostly) predictable, especially when you’re dealing with squares and rectangles. Quilting makes me happy.

Linen and Scraps Quilt

Linen makes me happy, too, even though it’s hard to deal with sometimes.

Linen and Scraps Quilt

Linen + Patchwork = Happy

Quilt Back

Linen + Patchwork on a quilt back + that wrinkly look = Happy x2.

Sometimes when I order natural linen the colors vary.  This time it was very dark.  Wasn’t sure I liked it when I opened the box.  Really liking it now that it’s been made into a quilt.

And you know what about this project REALLY makes me  happy?

A small, organized scrap basket = Happy x 3

scrap basket

Everything that is narrower than 6″  or smaller than a fat quarter goes in here.  Just a few days ago, this basket was overflowing.  Now, after some purging and quilting, it’s perfect.  I line the fabrics up so I can see a little sliver of each.  That way I don’t have to search so hard for the perfect scrap.

Wishing you happy sewing!

24 Responses to “Quilting = Happy”


  1. 1 apeppermintpenguin September 2, 2010 at 1:49 pm

    Gorgeous, and I’m happy to hear that you are feeling, well – happier!

    Quilt on!!

    Cheers,
    AJ

    • 2 craftapple September 3, 2010 at 10:51 am

      It’s nice to have recovered from my frazzled week. 🙂 The boys and I have been running, so I think that has helped. Taking a break from pattern-writing to quilt was also a nice diversion!

  2. 3 Bethany September 2, 2010 at 2:11 pm

    Now that’s some math I can get behind🙂

  3. 7 Stephanie September 2, 2010 at 10:22 pm

    I love them! What size are they? I have so many scraps and never know what to do with them… This is such a fun idea! Thanks. “)

    • 8 craftapple September 3, 2010 at 10:53 am

      These were baby quilts – about 36″ x 36″. I’m sure it would look great on a larger quilt, I just don’t have the patience for manhandling large quilts under my machine – too much work. 🙂

  4. 9 UK lass in US September 3, 2010 at 9:01 pm

    Oh, they look lovely – just perfect.

    I did organise my scrap basket, but I’m only adding to it. I’m still in the intimidated by quilting phase, so I think that it will be a while before they start to get used…

  5. 10 Michele September 3, 2010 at 10:30 pm

    Quilting makes me happy but I’m still at novice at putting the edging on, so that does not yet make me happy. Practice makes perfect I guess!😉

  6. 11 kara September 4, 2010 at 1:50 pm

    Seriously, that’s ALL the scraps you have, you’re my hero! I am too afraid to throw anything away for fear I’ll need a little aliver later, so my scrap basket has multiplied to take over the two empty baskets next to it, and all three of them are overflowing!

    • 12 craftapple September 4, 2010 at 3:52 pm

      I guess for the sake of transparency I should have mentioned that a lot of scraps get given away to friends that quilt more than I do or to families that have young girls learning to sew. 3 baskets? Time to get quilting!🙂

  7. 13 Elaine September 5, 2010 at 6:26 pm

    You are cute!
    My daughter sent me a link to this post saying that she loves this idea. Thanks for sharing inspiration to my youngin’! 😉

  8. 15 jennwith4 September 7, 2010 at 4:11 pm

    I love the linen and patchwork quilts! So cute!

  9. 16 anne September 13, 2010 at 11:24 am

    Love both these quilts – they offer much needed inspiration for me right now! Do you mind sharing where you find the natural linen?

    Thanks!

  10. 17 Jody September 14, 2010 at 3:27 pm

    Gorgeous quilts! I have 6 yes SIX friends about to have babies that I need to make things for in the coming months – I think I may have to churn out a couple of these cute quilts and use up my fabric scraps at the same time. Love them!! Thanks for the idea!

  11. 19 Angie September 20, 2010 at 9:53 pm

    That blue one was a gift for me! Seeing my little boy wrapped in that beautiful quilt is an uncountable number of happy’s. Thank you so much. I love it!

  12. 21 Ready to paint ceramics October 7, 2010 at 7:39 pm

    Hey! This is a great idea for my old pieces of clothing laying about. =]

  13. 22 snikelarten October 14, 2010 at 4:25 am

    I really like the second one, such nice colors!

  14. 23 Rae October 27, 2010 at 8:42 am

    Hi Linda! I always love seeing what you’re up to. I’m working on a quilt with linen too…and yes, I just discovered how tricky it can be. Hopefully the quilting will cover up some of the wooblyness.

    in other news, I went to visit my Aunt Jan and Uncle Carl a few weekends ago…she talked about you and how you and Brent were in the same class. I don’t know why I never put it together that you guys were in Taiwan at the same time… SO COOL!! So even more connection there!!! Fun, fun.

    Have a great week!

    • 24 craftapple October 27, 2010 at 9:46 am

      I gotta say that if you’re related to Uncle Carl and Auntie Jan (that’s what we called them growing up) then I feel like we’re related too! How funny! Brent and I used to play together when we were in preschool. I still remember the short walk to his house to go play.

      I just got some more linen – can’t wait to get started on it, but keep having trouble finding the time. Quilt Market is this weekend – do you go to QM?


Leave a Reply

Craft Apple

An apple a day keeps the doctor away, right? Well, crafting is my apple. It's what I do to maintain my sanity while taking care of my family. I homeschool my three boys, ages 12, 13, and 14), am a quilter, a bagaholic, and a pattern designer.
© 2006-2015 Craft Apple Creations

Archives