The Door to Nowhere

A few weeks ago I got it in my head that I wanted to make a door.  No reason for the door except to see if I could turn an idea into a reality.  The boys and I went to Home Depot.  I got some wood to make my door.  The boys got some wood to make swords (which I ended up making, since power tools were involved).

door small

Instead of putting a knob where it should be, I added a finial to the center.  I think this will make a much better display for bag pictures, dontcha think?

The finial is one I got on clearance.  I have a few screwed into a shelf in my craft room.  Much nicer than a plain hook.

finial

I miss working with wood.  One of these days I’ll get a picture of the shelf/work bench I made before having kids.  It’s currently in my craft room, home to TONS of fabric and pattern supplies.

I really do like doors.  I took a bunch of door pictures in Taiwan this summer.  They’re so fun to play around with in Photoshop, too.  I like the look of this one.

door 2

19 Responses to “The Door to Nowhere”


  1. 1 Michele September 22, 2010 at 1:48 pm

    I love that you just got it in your head to make a door and you did it! Totally made me smile today…and I needed to smile today.🙂

  2. 3 Michelle September 22, 2010 at 2:13 pm

    That’s so awesome. Look ma! I made a door!

    And thanks so much for the Stitch magazine. You really didn’t have to do that, but I so appreciate that you did. It’s fun, and I have a pile of denim waiting to be made into something…

  3. 5 apeppermintpenguin September 22, 2010 at 2:14 pm

    I too have a past with woodworking.

    When I was at Secondary School, at the age of 12,…. I made….

    a tent peg.

    I got a ‘D’.

    !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Your door is extremely excellent. You are a total clever clogs.

    Cheers,
    AJ

    • 6 craftapple September 22, 2010 at 6:42 pm

      Oh, that’s not right! A funny story now that we’re adults, but probably not so fun at the time! I wouldn’t have the foggiest idea how to make a tent peg. I think that would require some nice machinery – stuff that I don’t own, but would one day LOVE to have in a nice air conditioned shed behind the house. 🙂

  4. 9 Melanie September 22, 2010 at 3:30 pm

    so is this brick wall the outside of your house? That is a dang cool door and background for pictures!

    • 10 craftapple September 22, 2010 at 6:44 pm

      Yeah, the brick is the outside of the house which meant I was weeding and sweeping before I could take the shot. I’m about as good at taking care of the outside of the house as I am the inside – not so good.

  5. 11 Jennwith4 September 22, 2010 at 6:22 pm

    Love the door!

  6. 13 UK lass in US September 22, 2010 at 10:22 pm

    The curve is perfect – want to make me a gate?

    I like woodwork, but have a fear of power tools. I’ll use them, but will be a little too worried and cautious. Having said that, I’m still scared of the sewing machine, too…

    • 14 craftapple September 23, 2010 at 9:48 am

      Oh believe me – I was wearing the proper protection – a mask so I didn’t breathe in all the sawdust (very uncomfortable). I’m a huge fan of the cordless drill, though – so easy to use. Sometimes when I’m sewing through heavy thicknesses I wonder if I should be wearing safety goggles for when the needle breaks and comes flying toward my eyes… we may share the same fears. 🙂

  7. 15 revel designs September 22, 2010 at 11:54 pm

    looks great!! open it. see where it goes!

  8. 17 webdesigncompanyhubli September 23, 2010 at 4:42 am

    Now i’ll also work on them using photoshop…thanks

  9. 18 erica September 28, 2010 at 7:32 am

    This is such a great idea! I love that you can take it anywhere and have a great backdrop for your product photography…I may haave to do something like this🙂 thanks for sharing…

    • 19 craftapple September 28, 2010 at 9:26 am

      Yes, the idea was that I could possibly take it to craft shows, etc. Now I have to work on a stand to slide it into so it can stand up on it’s own. Or maybe I’ll just get some metal brackets. I’d rather not use metal, but it would be so much easier. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Craft Apple

An apple a day keeps the doctor away, right? Well, crafting is my apple. It's what I do to maintain my sanity while taking care of my family. I homeschool my three boys, ages 12, 13, and 14), am a quilter, a bagaholic, and a pattern designer.
© 2006-2015 Craft Apple Creations

Archives