A Fabric House and Schoolhouse

Look Mom, I made a house!

linen house 2

This little project was so much fun.  It took about 5 prototypes to get it right and in the end there was a bit too much handstitching to suit me, but it turned out just about as cute as I had hoped.  Why the little doll?  Well her name is Lemon Meringue and she’s for another craft I have planned.

linen house 1

The roof opens up to hold my napkin rings.

linen house 3

And the weight of a little keyring charm keeps the roof closed on one end.  I’m loving this fabric with the natural linen.  It’s called Bliss.

So why Schoolhouse?  Because I’m going to be speaking in Houston during Schoolhouse this month.  I’ve been putting together what I’m going to be talking about but if there is anything in particular YOU would like to hear, I’d love to hear your thoughts!

 

11 Responses to “A Fabric House and Schoolhouse”


  1. 1 Elena @ Breakfast for Dinner October 14, 2010 at 6:31 pm

    I’D like to hear about how I can get one of these for myself!🙂 So super cute!

  2. 3 Bethany October 14, 2010 at 7:12 pm

    That is one adorable project! Although I did think your napkin rings were handcuffs for a brief second, lol.

  3. 5 Jennwith4 October 15, 2010 at 12:06 am

    Cute house! I’m working on my own design for something and my 1st prototype didn’t quite work out. Need to get moving on making the second one.

    • 6 craftapple October 15, 2010 at 11:22 am

      Yes, I like the process, but often wish that it would work out the first time. Not a big fan of getting bogged down with multiple prototypes, but coming out successful always feels so good. Hang in there!

  4. 7 apeppermintpenguin October 15, 2010 at 6:10 am

    oh Wow!

    Cute house, great fabric, you are going to QM, you are doing SchoolHouse, oh Wow!

    Best of luck with the whooole thing.

    Cheers,
    AJ

    • 8 craftapple October 15, 2010 at 11:23 am

      Thank you! I’m a bit nervous about schoolhouse, wishing I had at least gone before so I would know what to expect. I’m sure it will be fine. And when it’s over I’ll be glad I did it.

  5. 9 UK lass in US October 15, 2010 at 8:51 am

    How sweet! What did you use to hold its shape? I’ve used plastic canvas on the wee dollhouses, wood on the big version, but now I’m considering a Nativity stable and I’m thinking about other options – as presumably it wouldn’t have to stand up to rough housing from my kids…

  6. 11 stephanie October 18, 2010 at 11:09 am

    My first market next week, too. I am opening a mod fabric/sewing lounge in cincinnati. what time are you doing your schoolhouse presentation?


Leave a Reply

Craft Apple

An apple a day keeps the doctor away, right? Well, crafting is my apple. It's what I do to maintain my sanity while taking care of my family. I homeschool my three boys, ages 12, 13, and 14), am a quilter, a bagaholic, and a pattern designer.
© 2006-2015 Craft Apple Creations

Archives