Schoolhouse

This was my first time attending schoolhouse.  Here’s a few things that I learned:

Some schoolhouse sessions are 15 minutes and some are 30 minutes.

When speaking for 15 minutes, the time really does fly!

While you can learn a lot at schoolhouse, it is *really* all about the giveaways!

Some 30 minute schoolhouse sessions will spend 15 minutes giving things away.

Most giveaways are handled by collecting business cards and selecting a winner.

A large business card can give you the edge to being selected.

I had a large business card.

I won 2 books, 1 fat quarter set, and a charm pack sampler.

Lecien GiveawayFat Quarters from Lecien

I also received other freebies, including a beautiful necklace from Lila Tueller.  There must have been 80+ people in her schoolhouse and she gave each of them a hand-crafted ceramic necklace.  Isn’t that super generous?  I think so.

Lila's necklace

Near the end of the day people were complaining about my oversized business card.

I met someone the next day that said, “Oh, YOU’RE the one who won all those prizes!”

For the last few months I’ve been purging.  Trying not to keep things that I *might* use and saving space for the things I *will* use.  So with this in mind, before I left Market I had given away a book and a charm pack sampler.

I’m keeping one book and a few fat quarters. The rest are here (pictured above) for anyone who wants them.  First come, first serve on the fabric and necklace!  Let me know in the comments which item you want! And they’ve all been claimed!

This coming week is going to be  a busy one.  Hubby is having wrist surgery for a torn ligament, MIL is coming to help us out and Cindy and I will be doing Funky Finds Experience this weekend.  All this is to say that I’ll get things into the mail as soon as I can.  When it rains it pours!

19 Responses to “Schoolhouse”


  1. 1 Mearaid October 31, 2010 at 9:05 pm

    I’ll have to remember the trick about big business cards. I would love the fabric, especially A and C.

  2. 3 Miquela Mangum October 31, 2010 at 9:11 pm

    I love the fabric in bundle D!! Gonna remember the business card trick too!

  3. 5 kama October 31, 2010 at 9:11 pm

    I would love any of the fabrics. 🙂 I was the one who was going to Houston. I’m going this weekend. I think the quilt show is this weekend. You probably won’t be there then, huh?

  4. 7 TraceyS October 31, 2010 at 9:13 pm

    I love fabric A and B! I’ll need to remember the business card trick. It is so generous of you to offer the things that you know you wouldn’t be using right away.

  5. 9 cw October 31, 2010 at 9:21 pm

    I would LOVE any of the fabrics if any is still available. So generous! way to pay it forward!

  6. 10 Tabitha October 31, 2010 at 9:24 pm

    I’d love the necklace if you want to send it to me! I think it’s very beautiful and generous of both of you for sure!

  7. 12 Bethany October 31, 2010 at 9:36 pm

    ACK! I’m always late to the party when you have these giveaways!!
    Beautiful goodies!

  8. 14 kay morrison October 31, 2010 at 10:50 pm

    too late for me!😦 wish i had been there, i have a square business card!!

  9. 16 Hillary November 1, 2010 at 3:02 pm

    Oh Market sounds wonderful! I hope you’re not to exhausted and are full of inspiration!

  10. 17 Stephanie November 1, 2010 at 5:04 pm

    I’m curious… Would you post what your business card looks like? Only if you have the time! : ) Thanks!

    • 18 craftapple November 5, 2010 at 1:18 am

      Hi Stephanie, I don’t have a real need for business cards so I was using my promotional postcards that I include with all orders. It is ~4″ x 5″ so really stuck out in any container that was being used. 🙂


  1. 1 Thanks to Linda from Craft Apple! « Calico Pumpkin Trackback on November 5, 2010 at 11:36 am

Leave a Reply

Craft Apple

An apple a day keeps the doctor away, right? Well, crafting is my apple. It's what I do to maintain my sanity while taking care of my family. I homeschool my three boys, ages 12, 13, and 14), am a quilter, a bagaholic, and a pattern designer.
© 2006-2015 Craft Apple Creations

Archives