I thought it’d be an easy project…

Besides seeing all the latest fabric lines and sewing gadgets, going to Quilt Market is inspiring.  Designers pull out the stops and use their fabrics in ways that make you kick yourself and say, “Why didn’t I think of that?”  The big one that stuck in my head and wouldn’t let go was this chair from Bari J’s booth.  When I got home and realized I had some little Ikea chairs in the attic, I had to try this myself.  My boys used these chairs when they were much smaller.  I had to sand off lots of finger grease and crayon marks.  Here’s the finished project, complete with a scalloped edge skirt.

Jr. Chair Slipcover

It wasn’t as easy as I had hoped.  I padded the seat and back with foam I had laying around.  I stuffed foam scraps into all the spaces in the back of the chair.  Then started piecing the parts together.  I would do it differently next time to make the process easier, if there IS a next time.  There’s still one naked chair as seen in the background.  I think I need some motivation to get it done – like a little girl’s birthday or something.  Like a really little girl who might still fit on this thing and appreciate it’s padded goodness.

Here are some shots of the padding – held in place by fabric and twill tape tied in a gazillion places.  The slipcover slides on over all this.

Jr. Chair padding

Chairs are sorta like this one.  Leave it up to Ikea to sell a new piece of children’s furniture  for $13.

15 Responses to “I thought it’d be an easy project…”


  1. 1 UK lass in US November 16, 2010 at 6:01 pm

    It looks great! We even have those wee chairs, but…

    until my kids stop putting finger grease and crayon marks over everything I’m not putting fabric on anything that they will sit on…

  2. 3 Bari November 16, 2010 at 10:41 pm

    It looks great! Glad you were inspired! XO,
    b

  3. 5 Angie November 17, 2010 at 7:57 am

    That does not look like an easy project! I like how you did the padding – very pretty! Are you going to try a bigger chair now?

    • 6 craftapple November 17, 2010 at 11:28 am

      I’ve been eying a large Parson’s chair at Target. Not sure if I should even attempt it. Upholstery is one of those things I would love to learn if I were going to live to be 200 and knew I could learn lots of different things (furniture making is another thing that I’ll probably never get to). It’s fun to dream, though and to have something to look forward to when I have more time!

  4. 7 dana November 17, 2010 at 9:45 am

    Oh Linda, they turned out great! I never woulda thought of that either.

  5. 9 apeppermintpenguin November 17, 2010 at 12:51 pm

    Great! Love the fix for the padding.

    do they sell http://www.ikea.com/gb/en/catalog/products/40105830 these chairs in your ikea? I have the slightly dearer henriksdal and it’s very comfy.

    It would be an absolute hit as the prize gift at a party – some wee girl would be overjoyed and be all princess on a throne!

    Dare I say laminates?

    Anyway – easy or not, looks good.

    • 10 craftapple November 17, 2010 at 3:16 pm

      Oooo – I never thought to look at Ikea for larger chairs. I make to Ikea about once a year (it’s not that close to us) – but now I have a reason to go! 🙂 You are always full of good ideas – thank you!

  6. 11 Cindy November 18, 2010 at 9:29 am

    What a pretty chair. I’ve got a few things that need recovered, maybe I’ll get to it someday. Thanks for the tips on the twill tape ties.

  7. 12 Jenn November 24, 2010 at 7:11 pm

    Wow. I have so been there before. In fact, I am often there…

    It was worth the work though, it turned out adorable!

  8. 13 Joy November 28, 2010 at 9:52 pm

    I love what you have done to a plain chair. Beautiful fabric also and the Twill tape makes everything a little easier.

  9. 14 Karyn December 4, 2010 at 6:02 pm

    I guess the fact that *I* am expecting a little princess in the next few weeks that would just LOVE that pretty little chair wouldn’t be much motivation for you…..would it? *grin*

    Seriously? Thanks for sharing. Another idea to tuck into the back of my cluttered re-purpose-it mind to keep my eyes open for next summer when I’m yard/tag/garage saling. (sp? looks funny).

  10. 15 Angie December 20, 2010 at 8:19 pm

    I would love to see this as your next pattern!


Leave a Reply

Craft Apple

An apple a day keeps the doctor away, right? Well, crafting is my apple. It's what I do to maintain my sanity while taking care of my family. I homeschool my three boys, ages 12, 13, and 14), am a quilter, a bagaholic, and a pattern designer.
© 2006-2015 Craft Apple Creations

Archives