Al

Sometimes I hear my kids say something with a Texas accent and I wonder how in the world that happened.  I’m not from Texas and even though my kids were born here, we don’t know too many people with thick accents.  The latest word one of them used was, “myyyyself”.  Well that got me started and I used my thickest west Texas drawl to talk about everything from their behavior to what we were going to get at the store.  The funny thing is that they listen better to me when I speak that way.  The other funny thing is that once I started, it was hard to stop.

That is how this owl got its name.  Al.  Say it s-l-o-w.  It’s a Texas owl, get it?  I made him for a visual we needed in Children’s Church because in addition to the things that keep me busy in life, I also coordinate Children’s Church at our church.  Yep, that’s 30+ teachers to keep track of and a whole lot of emailin’.  I asked around to borrow one, but to no avail.  So being my industrious self, I made Al.  So glad he only took one attempt.  Here he is on his way to his acting debut.
Al - acting debut

Al proved that he has exceptional acting talent.  He got himself an agent and got some promotional shots taken.  So from Al to all of you,
Al - promo shot

10 Responses to “Al”


  1. 1 Joanna December 6, 2010 at 8:11 am

    LOL, I like Al. My daughter took one look and now she wants one, too. Being born in Texas m’self, I can hear your accent quite well.

    • 2 craftapple December 6, 2010 at 11:26 pm

      I’m sure she would love it if you made her one! There are a ton of tutorials online, or you can just draw out your own. My kids love the owl, but I’m not sure I made it sturdy enough for them.

  2. 3 Dana December 6, 2010 at 9:05 pm

    Yes, ma’am. That’s how we say it here in Cowtown – it’s spelled o-w-l but sounds more like Al… but not to us Texans! ;^) I had to say my regular pronunciation of owl before I could understand that it sounded like Al. LOL

    Remember that I was the one that recognized the Botanic Gardens in your photo quite a while back? Are y’all staying in this area or leaving the metroplex? Good luck with the sale of your house.

    • 4 craftapple December 6, 2010 at 11:22 pm

      Oh yes, we are moving locally. We love the area! It’s so family friendly and a fun place to live. We were starting to burst out of our current house – the boys just keep growing and growing. 🙂

  3. 5 UK lass in US December 11, 2010 at 2:19 pm

    Sweet!

    Yeah, I’m not sure how the accents thing happens. My daughter spent her infancy mainly in the company of an English-accented mum, has a dad with one of the milder American accents, yet she ended up with one of the strongest American accents that I’ve heard here in California…

  4. 7 urban craft December 13, 2010 at 7:51 pm

    hoot hoot! Love aalul. That was me saying it slow, ha!

  5. 9 Angie December 27, 2010 at 5:00 pm

    I like how you created his name — I actually said it out loud slowly!


Leave a Reply

Craft Apple

An apple a day keeps the doctor away, right? Well, crafting is my apple. It's what I do to maintain my sanity while taking care of my family. I homeschool my three boys, ages 12, 13, and 14), am a quilter, a bagaholic, and a pattern designer.
© 2006-2015 Craft Apple Creations

Archives