Blur

The last week and a half have been a blur.  We closed on a home, packed and moved all our junk stuff into our new house about 5 miles away from the old one.  We are still in the explosion stage over here, where most of the boxes are gone, but we haven’t found a place for everything yet.  The nice thing about moving is taking a good hard look at all our stuff and purging, purging, purging.  I needed a rule to make the process easier and finally came up with one:

I am not a slave to my stuff.
If an item is not a slave to me, then it goes.

So I took a good hard look at some of the things I was moving.  For example, I had a wok that I got years ago.  I love cooking Chinese food, but haven’t used a woke in ages.  As much as I like the idea of having a wok, in dragging the wok from house to house, I was treating it like a king while behaving like it’s slave.  Not good.  Looking at things and thinking, “I am not your slave” made the whole process easier.  The wok, along with 5 huge boxes of usable stuff went to the thrift store and I am now master of my stuff.  Well, master of most of my stuff.  I haven’t done so well purging the sewing stuff (we all have our weaknesses, right?).

This is the embarrassing part where I show you the current condition of my new sewing room.  

I am not your slave, I am not your slave.

This is the reality of a mostly non-handmade Christmas.

This is the Pantone Color of the year 2011 (love it).

Busy days ahead.  Hoping  your holidays are filled with joy!

2 Responses to “Blur”


  1. 1 UK lass in US December 11, 2010 at 2:15 pm

    In some kind of masochistic way, I always enjoyed the finding a place for things part of moving house…

    What a nice sized sewing room. Good luck with the rest of your settling in.

  2. 2 Laura December 14, 2010 at 3:31 pm

    What fun. Moving is a great way to organize your life and it is so fun to “nest” Everything is new and open to possibilities. Out of the rut and into chaos! He he. Have a glorious Christmas.


Leave a Reply

Craft Apple

An apple a day keeps the doctor away, right? Well, crafting is my apple. It's what I do to maintain my sanity while taking care of my family. I homeschool my three boys, ages 12, 13, and 14), am a quilter, a bagaholic, and a pattern designer.
© 2006-2015 Craft Apple Creations

Archives