Crayon Cupcakes (with frosting)

Does NordicWare know that I’m one of their best customers?  I don’t even go looking for these pans.  They are always placed right where I’m going to see them (nice job, Target).

crayon cupcakes 1

After picking up a pan, I make my way over to the crayon isle and make myself one of Crayola’s best customers.

crayon cupcakes 3

It’s the color, I tell you – I love how the colors meld.

crayon cupcakes 2

The cupcake has a base piece and a frosting piece that need to be connected.  My best solution thus far has been Gorilla Glue (messy), but I think there may be a better way that I just haven’t discovered yet.

Instructions for making melted crayon stuff are here.

40 Responses to “Crayon Cupcakes (with frosting)”


  1. 1 Melissa February 5, 2011 at 2:08 pm

    What if you use a little torch and get both pieces a little melty where they will connect? Just thinking out loud…

  2. 5 dana February 5, 2011 at 2:45 pm

    oh wow. I almost thought those were REAL cupcakes! Love them. Beautiful pics.

    • 6 craftapple February 5, 2011 at 4:54 pm

      Thanks, Dana! Did I tell you that I read one of your posts on photography and it got me motivated to get a new camera? Oh yes, and I LOVE the saturation option in Photoshop. 🙂

  3. 7 Starla February 5, 2011 at 4:29 pm

    I agree with Melissa. OR if you dont have something to melt the pieces enough to glue them, what about reserving a small bit of crayon to melt after the cupcake pieces set that you can then apply as glue?

    • 8 craftapple February 5, 2011 at 4:57 pm

      Thanks, Starla. I used my grill lighter to melt an extra crayon and it didn’t work as well as I hoped. The problem is that the 2 pieces don’t dry flat on the surface that needs to stick so there’s quit a bit of space there that needs filling.😦

  4. 9 Bethany February 5, 2011 at 4:38 pm

    Oooo, I love those! I want to eat them🙂
    The colors are so pretyy!

  5. 10 Lemon Tree Tami February 5, 2011 at 6:55 pm

    These are so luscious looking – makes me want to bake cupcakes and put multi-colored frosting on them. I bet they’d make outstanding favors to hand out at kids birthday parties. Something pretty, unusual and practical. Great combination!

  6. 12 Kim February 5, 2011 at 7:14 pm

    Hi! You could put the pieces with the uneven sides on a warm/hot oven plate/rack (or even in a pan, just don’t use it for cooking afterwards)so they melt a bit until the surface is flat and ready to put together. This method is used to flatted handmade candles (I read that somewhere). The cupcakes look so cute!

  7. 14 Melissa February 5, 2011 at 7:31 pm

    Regardless of the way they are assembled, the cupcake crayons are fabulous! I love how they turned out. And I used Gorilla Glue myself just this morning – I chipped my favortie ceramic hand-painted bowl and glued the chipped piece back. That stuff is amazing! (I did get a smidge on my fingers and was very sorry afterwards.)

    • 15 craftapple February 6, 2011 at 9:44 am

      Yes, what’s with how weird that stuff is?!?! It took several hours for it to dry, so I though maybe it couldn’t be used on wax…then after a while one of them was oozing the stuff onto the counter top. So glad it didn’t damage anything…

  8. 16 Megan February 5, 2011 at 9:33 pm

    pure genius. I can’t wait to make some for my cousin’s girls.

  9. 18 revel designs February 5, 2011 at 11:36 pm

    Yummy!! Love the vivid colors!
    I have never understood Gorilla Glue. How can you anticipate and gage the foamy expansion?

  10. 20 Stacy T February 6, 2011 at 1:42 am

    Gorgeous!

    Could you make the tops, let them dry, then poured the bottoms and sat the tops on top of the bottoms while they dried.. so the top would melt a tad into the bottom while it cooled, hence fusing them together…

    • 21 craftapple February 6, 2011 at 9:49 am

      That’s actually not a bad idea. The bottoms are smaller than the tops so I could make those first and lay them on the tops while the tops are cooling. I think this might work – thanks, Stacy!

  11. 22 keepcatebusy (Cate) February 6, 2011 at 5:45 am

    excellent! You may have just topped those fab crayon cars this time🙂
    xxxCate

  12. 27 UK lass in US February 10, 2011 at 11:27 am

    They turned out beautifully! I’ve been melting crayons, then pouring into an ice cube mould this week. The results aren’t as good as when you melt them straight into a cupcake mould (I’m still annoyed that my husband threw my mould out…)

  13. 28 Becky February 10, 2011 at 11:05 pm

    What a beautiful blog you have! So fun to have stumbled on it! I really want to make the floor cloth (just like yours would be fantastic… but something close will make me happy). Could you tell me which month and year for the MaryJanesFarm Magazine it was in? Also, I fell in LOVE with your boots!!! Could you tell me what kind they are? They’re beautiful!

  14. 29 Picture Pizazz February 20, 2011 at 8:17 pm

    I love these…Never have I seen such marvelous crayons…

  15. 30 Tabitha February 24, 2011 at 2:01 pm

    I love these to pieces! Cupcake crayons made me squeal. lol Thanks for sharing.

  16. 31 Lisa April 4, 2011 at 10:25 pm

    I sooooooooooooooo love em!! I want to make some!!:) Are the frosting & the cupcakes bases from chocolates moulds? Many Thanks

  17. 33 Chase May 28, 2011 at 7:26 pm

    I would use the old method for sticking together two halves of a chocolate mold: put an empty cookie sheet in the oven till its nice and hot, then pull it out and set it on the stove. Then grab the top and bottom halves and rub the flat sides on the tray in a circular motion just till they start to melt, then press them together. Works every time. Just reheat the pan if it gets too cold.

  18. 34 kelley February 7, 2012 at 12:50 pm

    where did you get the cupcake stand from???

  19. 36 kelley February 7, 2012 at 12:57 pm

    awesome thanks so much

  20. 37 kelley February 7, 2012 at 12:59 pm

    where did you get the cast iron cupcake pan from?? would target have them?

  21. 38 Ashley February 21, 2013 at 9:03 am

    Is the pan cast iron or cast aluminum? I read this pan is non stick did you do anything else to prepare it? I have a cast iron pan I need to season and a cast aluminum 3 d candy mold. Have you tried these. My husbands says the crayon would stick and my mold would be destroyed, 3 d chocolate mold.


  1. 1 Crayon Legos « Craft Apple Trackback on November 30, 2011 at 2:30 pm
  2. 2 DIY | Pearltrees Trackback on April 28, 2012 at 5:39 am

Leave a Reply

Craft Apple

An apple a day keeps the doctor away, right? Well, crafting is my apple. It's what I do to maintain my sanity while taking care of my family. I homeschool my three boys, ages 12, 13, and 14), am a quilter, a bagaholic, and a pattern designer.
© 2006-2015 Craft Apple Creations

Archives