Inspired by Myself

Is it okay to say I was inspired by myself??  I was reading some old posts on my blog one day and I saw the nice nine patch quilt I made a few years ago. I thought to myself, that quilt made me happy.  I want to make another one. And so I did.

Nine Patch Quilt

The linen was a bear to work with, but it all worked out in the end because it wrinkled up beautifully and wrinkles are very forgiving.  Forgiveness is a good thing so I’ll forgive the linen for being  a stinker and continue using it.

9patch linen2

A few squares left over meant that the back could have a touch of modern.

Nine Patch Quilt Back

The nine patch set on point like this is one of my favorite classic quilt designs, right up there with the Chimney Sweep Quilt.  Simple squares.  Sweet.  Fun.

9patch linen3

11 Responses to “Inspired by Myself”


  1. 1 Beth February 14, 2011 at 1:55 pm

    What a great quilt! You make it sound so easy! I have three or four quilts I should finish up.

  2. 3 Jessica February 14, 2011 at 2:06 pm

    I absolutely love this quilt! I need to make one (it would solve my agony about choosing fabrics to go together)!

    • 4 Laura February 14, 2011 at 7:27 pm

      Thanks for blogging about your quilt. It is so nice to see something positive and accomplished. It is very encouraging. Hope your schooling is going well also.

  3. 6 laura February 14, 2011 at 10:21 pm

    I love the idea of being inspired by yourself. I’ve been updating my blog lately and thinking, “wow, that project was really cute! I should do something like that again.” Sometimes you don’t have to go elsewhere to find new and creative ideas.🙂

    • 7 craftapple February 15, 2011 at 2:02 am

      Sometimes in blogging I feel the pressure to produce something original all the time and I’m just not creative enough to make that happen. 🙂 It feels good to go back and do something you enjoy and are familiar with.

  4. 8 Shelly February 16, 2011 at 8:52 am

    Beautiful, as usual. I’m kind of partial to pinwheels myself. lol.

  5. 9 UK lass in US February 16, 2011 at 1:07 pm

    That’s a lovely quilt. I’ve seen some really complicated quilt designs out there, but the ones that I am always drawn to are the simple ones – as in simple design, not necessarily simple to actually make!

  6. 10 Picture Pizazz February 20, 2011 at 8:21 pm

    I would never have guessed that those colors went together…you just have an excellent sense of that!

  7. 11 Heather Johnson March 10, 2011 at 2:16 pm

    Hi, I’m with an online vintage dress boutique called Shabby Apple (www.shabbyapple.com) and I adore your blog. Shabby Apple offers affordable, stylish attire perfect for a day at work or play, or a night on the town. We would love to partner with you and offer your readers a 10% off coupon as well as the opportunity to giveaway or review one of our dresses on your blog. Please check us out at http://www.shabbyapple.com and let me know if you are interested.

    I look forward to hearing back from you soon!

    Thanks,

    Heather Johnson


Leave a Reply

Craft Apple

An apple a day keeps the doctor away, right? Well, crafting is my apple. It's what I do to maintain my sanity while taking care of my family. I homeschool my three boys, ages 12, 13, and 14), am a quilter, a bagaholic, and a pattern designer.
© 2006-2015 Craft Apple Creations

Archives