Short-sleeved Linen Coat

As much as I have an almost paralyzing fear of sewing clothes for myself, I keep trying.  And what could be easier to fit than a loose-fitting coat that only comes in 1 size?

linen coat1
This breezy summer coat is perfect for when I dress for summer, then end up shivering in an air conditioned room.  This happens to me all the time.  When its 100° outside, I tend to wear tank tops (that’s normal, right?), then find myself sitting in the cold sanctuary at church or in the meat section of the grocery store wishing I had a light coat or sweater.  This happens to my kids, too.  They walk around the grocery store with their arms inside their shirts.  And I ask myself, “Why aren’t other kids walking around like this?   Are my kids abnormally cold like their mother or am I just way too lenient in letting them walk around like this?”
linen coat4

Pattern is from Cotton Friend Spring 2011.

One change I made to the pattern was adding this little band in the back to gather the excess fabric and give it some shape.  I used scraps to cover the band with flowers – a nice little feminine touch, yes?  Not overly cutesy, no?

linen coat3

I’m liking how it turned out, although I’m not liking how my tall husband apparently sees me – as demonstrated by the pictures he took from way up in the sky where his head is.  It makes me look short – or more accurately ‘shorter’.  I think I need to start teaching the kids how to use my camera.

linen coat2

7 Responses to “Short-sleeved Linen Coat”


  1. 1 Joanna June 15, 2011 at 5:54 pm

    i love it. i need one. preese?

  2. 2 Lisa June 15, 2011 at 6:34 pm

    That is a beautiful coat! In Hawaii, we buy sweaters and jackets to wear in air conditioning, even guys. We had a trainer fly in from New York who waited to start class because he saw a student come in from lunch put on a jacket just as he sat down. Our classroom in the convention center had super cold A/C, but the instuctor instinctively thought the student was putting on the jacket to go back out. Not in humid Hawaii!

  3. 3 Vicki W June 16, 2011 at 10:15 am

    I love that detail on the back!

  4. 4 Annika June 17, 2011 at 8:59 am

    I’m new to your blog, but love it here! The coat looks lovely, as does about anything else that you make!

  5. 6 susie June 23, 2011 at 10:53 pm

    I love the custom detail you added to the back. I think it made more special that way. Love it!🙂 loved my 1st visit, I’ll be back again. There’s much here to look at for sure.


  1. 1 Design Collective blog hop Trackback on July 1, 2011 at 8:03 am

Leave a Reply

Craft Apple

An apple a day keeps the doctor away, right? Well, crafting is my apple. It's what I do to maintain my sanity while taking care of my family. I homeschool my three boys, ages 12, 13, and 14), am a quilter, a bagaholic, and a pattern designer.
© 2006-2015 Craft Apple Creations

Archives