Ottoman

Ottoman - after
The first week of the month is always sorta fun around here because it’s the week when everyone puts out their bulk trash.  It’s really just a change of scenery for when I’m out jogging or driving out of the neighborhood.  I see people loading up other’s castoffs into their trucks or imagine what I could do with a broken desk or an ugly chair.  Until a few months ago, I never picked anything up off the curb – mostly because we don’t need any more stuff.  But then I saw this –  a little ottoman that had been a cat’s scratching post – and the boys helped me squeeze it into the van.

ottoman - before

I originally planned on recovering the entire thing, but as I took it apart into a bunch of pieces I realized that in spite of how easy it looks on Sarah’s House, upholstering is best left to the professionals.  So instead of reupholstering the whole thing, I built a base, stained the legs,
Ottoman base

and armed myself with a staple gun.  It still wasn’t an easy job – getting the fitted corners just right were way more work than I thought they would be!  Upholstery is one of those things, up there with woodworking that I would love to learn but just don’t have the time right now.  Or the space.  Or the tools.  I have a pretty good idea what I’ll be taking up in my retirement years.  Do you?
Ottoman - after

7 Responses to “Ottoman”


  1. 1 Alisa July 14, 2011 at 10:59 am

    It looks great! And yes, furniture refinishing and upholstering is on my list of ‘want to do someday’. The gratification of turning something old into something new is so exciting, isn’t it?!

  2. 3 Joanna July 14, 2011 at 2:48 pm

    wow!!! it looks nothing like it did before. huge improvement. love the legs. where did you get them?

    • 4 craftapple July 14, 2011 at 9:06 pm

      Thanks, Joanna. The legs? Their from Lowes. I’m thinking about going back and getting some thicker ones now that the boys have shown me how they like to treat my new ottoman.

  3. 5 Chara Michele July 17, 2011 at 9:55 pm

    Love this! It turned out great! Can I ask what the fabric you used for it is? I have a project I need to work on & that fabric looks perfect for it!🙂

  4. 6 Meagan July 18, 2011 at 1:55 pm

    I have a chair that needs to be reupholstered. Do you know anyone good around here that does that?

  5. 7 Lee Smith July 19, 2011 at 12:00 pm

    that’s so pretty! thanks for sharing your ingenious way of transforming an ugly ottoman into a beautiful part of your home…


Leave a Reply

Craft Apple

An apple a day keeps the doctor away, right? Well, crafting is my apple. It's what I do to maintain my sanity while taking care of my family. I homeschool my three boys, ages 12, 13, and 14), am a quilter, a bagaholic, and a pattern designer.
© 2006-2015 Craft Apple Creations

Archives