Swim Bag

The kids have been swimming a lot this summer at the neighborhood pool while I sit in the shade and watch.  I wish I was the kind of mom that would swim and play in the water with them but I can’t even begin to describe how oppressive the Texas sun is.  The sticky sunscreen, the chlorine, the sweating even when you’re in the water  – it’s all just super unappealing to me.

swimbag

So I sit on the edge armed with ice-cold water in a bottle and read or sketch or just enjoy the peace for a few minutes.  And now with my new laminated cotton bag, the kids can drip on my stuff and I don’t worry about it.

Swim Bag

Magazine, Patchfolio and a couple of good books.  Definitely enjoying  my latest read, Where Men Win Glory.  It’s so good that I’ve had to put it down several times because I can’t believe what I’m reading.

Swim Bag

Don’t be fooled by the blue sky and beautiful water.  This shot was taken right before we left.  I was hot, sweaty and nursing an injury from a soccer game yesterday.  3 of my toes – stretched back farther than any toe in it’s right mind should go.  BUT I’m likin’ the bag – a bit bigger than the Diaper Bag with straps from the Tailored Bag.

9 Responses to “Swim Bag”


  1. 1 Alisa July 25, 2011 at 2:47 pm

    You can send some of your heat my way!! Nice bag.

  2. 3 sonya July 25, 2011 at 10:04 pm

    love the bag. Yes i understand your sentiments about texas heat. I had to go back to the westcoast with my kid just to get away from it! My skin does not love this kind of weather. Hope you feel better and I love your blog! Your designs are awesome!

    • 4 craftapple July 26, 2011 at 12:43 am

      My skin doesn’t do well either. Just this summer I developed an allergy to sunscreen so I have to use the thick, sensitive skin, baby kind that doesn’t wash off. This sun is killing me!

  3. 5 Hunny Bunnies Handmade August 3, 2011 at 1:29 am

    HAHA! I LOVE that you are honest enough to admit that you sit on the sidelines while the kids swim! I would be doing exactly the same thing, which makes me kind of sad when I think about it. I always thought I would be right there on the front line with the kiddos. *sigh* Oh well! I’m sorry to hear about the oppressive heat. I’m in Washington on the Puget Sound and it has barely cracked 70 degrees this year. I am delirious with too much rain when I think I would actually enjoy a little of your heat! But the bag is super cute, and a perfect addition to the poolside. If your going to sit out there, might as well do it in style!😉

    • 6 craftapple August 4, 2011 at 7:24 am

      When I hear about how mild the summers are in Washington State I wish I could get a vacation home up there. Sounds great these days! Texas is at 110 this week…

  4. 7 Crystal - Hunny Bunnies Handmade August 3, 2011 at 1:31 am

    Ok, that last one didn’t post my name. =) That’s what I get for changing all my profile stuff!

  5. 8 Hazel August 3, 2011 at 6:39 pm

    That’s such cute bag! My kids are water sprites, too, but it’s not as hot here as in Texas, so I can join in too.

  6. 9 April @ sewing novice August 6, 2011 at 2:39 pm

    I am also working on a beach bag using some laminate! I’m nervous to cut into it though! Oh, and I saw your Chemisette Handbag Pattern at my local quilt shop today.🙂


Leave a Reply

Craft Apple

An apple a day keeps the doctor away, right? Well, crafting is my apple. It's what I do to maintain my sanity while taking care of my family. I homeschool my three boys, ages 12, 13, and 14), am a quilter, a bagaholic, and a pattern designer.
© 2006-2015 Craft Apple Creations

Archives