He’s Stellar!


When we were on vacation this summer, hiking in the mountains, resting for a snack on a large boulder, there was a little blue and black bird that hopped around us while we ate our snack.  He had the cutest little grouping of feathers on his head.  They made him look a little cocky and a little silly all at once.  I had to snap some shots of him.  After a little internet search I found out that he had a name.  He was a Stellar Jay.

Today is the first post of my tutorial for an advent calendar over on SewMamaSew!  This little project was a lot of fun to create and there is plenty of time to make it before Christmas.  I liked the idea of a pear tree, but couldn’t really bring myself to try to draw a partridge.  A partridge isn’t a super cute bird imo so I decided to go with something a little more stellar.

So in honor of that friendly little guy who probably would have loved some of my granola bar, but didn’t get any, I’ve added him to this advent calendar.  Not a partridge, to be sure, but certainly just as handsome, if not more.

2 Responses to “He’s Stellar!”


  1. 1 Dinah Wulf October 10, 2011 at 9:53 am

    This picture is beautiful and I love your interpretation of it… very nice!

  2. 2 Steph W October 27, 2011 at 8:41 am

    What an amazing woman and tribute!


Leave a Reply

Craft Apple

An apple a day keeps the doctor away, right? Well, crafting is my apple. It's what I do to maintain my sanity while taking care of my family. I homeschool my three boys, ages 12, 13, and 14), am a quilter, a bagaholic, and a pattern designer.
© 2006-2015 Craft Apple Creations

Archives