Grandma

Do you ever read stories about women in the “olden days” and wonder how they could be so strong?  Sometimes I wonder if I would act similarly in a situation or if I would just crumple in a heap and give up.  My Grandma was one of those women.  She was widowed with 8 children and was able to leave China with them in the 40s before the communists took over.

**I have a feeling that last statement just got my blog banned from a certain large country in the Far East**

Anyway, I mention her here because not only was she strong and brave woman of faith, but she was also a seamstress and the daughter of a seamstress.  She passed away when I was in 2nd grade so my memories of her are few, but now as a mom who sews to maintain my sanity, I find myself wondering if she and I would have had much in common.  Our conversations might go something like this,

Me:  “Grandma, how did you find the strength to take care of all your children after Grandpa passed away?”

Grandma:  “Well, dear, God gives you strength when you feel you have no more.”

Me:  “I don’t know if I could have done what you did.  It seems so incredibly hard to have 3 kids and a dog.  I don’t know if I could manage 8.”

Grandma:  “Well, dear, you are rather wimpy in that you have 2 cars, a house and an easy life.  Perhaps you are too soft to handle the kinds of pressures I had to deal with.”

JUST KIDDING.  I know she wouldn’t say that, but then again, she might have thought it because I think it about myself ALL the time.

Yep, these really are pictures of my Grandma.  In fact, the littlest one in the chair and hat is my dad!  Such a cutie.  I wish I had a picture of her sitting at the sewing machine.  I wore several dresses that she made for me.  The only picture I could find was one of my sister wearing a dress she made.  So sweet!

I’m honored to have this kind of history in my family.  Grandmothers on both sides who sewed and a mom that taught me to sew when I was young enough to get my finger stuck under the needle on the sewing machine.  That’s something you don’t quickly forget.

10 Responses to “Grandma”


  1. 1 Jenn at The Little Shop of Stitches October 25, 2011 at 8:39 pm

    Thank you for sharing this story and the photos. I loved reading about your family’s history.

  2. 3 Alisa October 25, 2011 at 8:49 pm

    Thanks for the story! My Oma sewed alot and she admits that her day didn’t feel complete without some sewing in it. My husbands Grandma who is 92 also loved sewing and set aside 1 whole day every week to sew. She didn’t do the dishes or make the beds; she just sewed all day. She loves it that I love sewing as much as she did.

  3. 5 sarah October 26, 2011 at 10:54 am

    Thank you for sharing your photos and story! What a blessing to read this today🙂 My grandmother passed last summer and it was the hardest thing I have been through. Grandmothers are so special. I pray I can be one like yours and mine🙂

  4. 6 Freda Tong October 29, 2011 at 11:04 pm

    I don’t think they will ban your blog, since they just approved the publication on the book about your Gramma. It will come out in simplified characters soon.

  5. 7 Pam October 30, 2011 at 2:07 pm

    I found this today as I wrote my blog post about my dear Dad and his passing on Friday. What a wonderful strong woman your Grna was. I agree that that generation was so hard working and just did what they had to do. We are truly uplifted by the stories they shared and the life they lived. I am challenging myself to complain less and do more. That is a tribute they would be proud of. xo Pam

    • 8 craftapple October 31, 2011 at 10:55 am

      Just read your post – a great tribute to your father. When I think about what previous generations had to go through I also am challenged to work harder and consider the blessings we have.

  6. 9 Rebecca November 4, 2011 at 10:08 am

    What a beautiful tribute. Your Grandmother would be proud that you are sewing in the family tradition.🙂

  7. 10 Elaine November 11, 2011 at 9:10 am

    I also came from grandmothers who sewed and a mother who sewed and I also think often of how I wish I could sit with my grandmas and visit and ask them about their lives. To glean from them. They had so much to offer. They were women of strong faith and character. When they were alive I was so busy growing up myself and then I was helping my own children grow up and I just never had the time. {plus I didn’t live in the area where they lived but now I do…which makes me think of them all the time} Thanks for sharing your sweet thoughts which make me have my own sweet thought! 🙂


Leave a Reply

Craft Apple

An apple a day keeps the doctor away, right? Well, crafting is my apple. It's what I do to maintain my sanity while taking care of my family. I homeschool my three boys, ages 12, 13, and 14), am a quilter, a bagaholic, and a pattern designer.
© 2006-2015 Craft Apple Creations

Archives