Crayon Legos

Around Christmas I like to give my little children’s church and Bible study kids a little something handmade.  When I found these Lego molds at this Etsy shop, my love of crayon melting kicked in and  I knew I had found the perfect boyish gift.  The girls will be getting crayon cupcakes.

crayon legos

These guys are 1 1/2″ tall.

My biggest beef with melting crayons is the process of peeling the paper off.  It’s a pain.  It makes my  hands hurt for days and it’s really not worth all the hassle.  That’s why my kids help me.  But I don’t feel good about making their hands work so hard either so I came up with a solution.  I cut through the paper on my paper cutter…

crayon cutting

and the boys peel the paper off.

crayon peeling

The cutting can be a bit tricky and takes a little getting used to.  In fact, I don’t let my kids do it (except for taking these pictures) because of the potential for cutting your finger.  I have another paper cutter that doesn’t hold the crayon well and I’ve given myself a nice injury before using that one.  If you want to try it, make sure you tape a little piece of foam or cardstock to the base to keep the crayon from sliding while cutting.

Instructions for crayon melting are here.

10 Responses to “Crayon Legos”


  1. 1 Amy November 30, 2011 at 4:26 pm

    Such a great idea!!! I’ve got tons of little pieces of crayon that’s perfect for this. The kids just recently got into legos. This would be awesome!
    Thanks for sharing.

  2. 3 Alisa November 30, 2011 at 6:29 pm

    Very neat idea! I like those crayon legos. My kids would love them.

  3. 4 Page November 30, 2011 at 8:59 pm

    SO cute! Love them!!

  4. 5 sonya December 2, 2011 at 5:23 pm

    are your hands ok? I wonder if you have the same thing as I do. Ever since I moved to Texas, I started breaking out in eczema on my hands and it’s made changing diapers, cleaning very difficult on my hands. Sometimes it even hurts to type. I have to wear cotton gloves all the time! I get it during the really hot weather. It seems to be getting better…here’s hoping! The crayons are so lovely though and Pax would love them…

  5. 6 Mimmi December 9, 2011 at 3:04 pm

    A tip: put the crayons in water and the paper comes sliding off!

  6. 7 madeinminch February 4, 2012 at 10:47 am

    What a fabulous idea! Love this, might try it with our brownie pack maybe thank you! Jen@madeinminch

  7. 8 Dollhouse Miniatures By Pei Li July 18, 2012 at 11:41 pm

    I never knew melted crayons could be poured into lego molds and these create brand new crayon sticks for the kids again! How innovative! Thanks for featuring these!

  8. 9 Tracey Ellis May 31, 2015 at 1:22 pm

    I soak the crayons in warm water and the paper comes right off…no peeling. then just dry them on a tea towel and you’re ready to melt!


Leave a Reply

Craft Apple

An apple a day keeps the doctor away, right? Well, crafting is my apple. It's what I do to maintain my sanity while taking care of my family. I homeschool my three boys, ages 12, 13, and 14), am a quilter, a bagaholic, and a pattern designer.
© 2006-2015 Craft Apple Creations

Archives