I made a dog toy!

A couple of weeks ago I came across some old skeins of wool that I had forgotten about and I turned them into felted balls.  I thought they would make a great dog toy for my giant dog who loves to chew on soft things, but after about 2 minutes he had chewed through the outer felted layer and spread yarn all over the room.  Fun for him, not so fun for me.

Then over Thanksgiving we dog sat a little dachshund and he didn’t have any toys, poor boy.  On top of that, our dog’s toys were about the size of this little guy’s head – way too big for him.  Here he is, posing with my latest project – isn’t he cute?

So I gave him a little wool ball and he loved it!  The good news is that he can’t tear it apart.  For the most part he just runs around with it, but catching a shot of a running dog is impossible for me so here he is mouthing it.  Any loose fuzzies can be trimmed off so he doesn’t ingest any.

He’s a cutie. I love our big, burly, 100-lb lab, but I can see the advantages of a little dog (like how he doesn’t knock me over when we’re playing).
Buddies.

6 Responses to “I made a dog toy!”


  1. 1 Karen in Delano December 1, 2011 at 11:21 pm

    We accidentally (long story) acquired a dachshund about seven years ago. I’ve always been a medium-size-dog-preferably-herding-breed-mix person, but I have to admit, this little guy has really grown on me. (Helps that he’s not a yappy little thing; for the most part he doesn’t realize he’s a small dog.

    • 2 craftapple December 3, 2011 at 11:48 am

      Karen, We never looked into having a little dog, but one could really grow on me, too. Maybe we need to accidentally acquire one! 🙂 The 2 dogs would play together and Ziggy (the little one) could hold his own against our lab.

      • 3 Karen in Delano December 4, 2011 at 1:34 pm

        Sadly, Baxter never figured out how to play with our big (60-lb) dog… she’d grown up with other dogs her size, so she’d get all wound up, slap him with a paw, and he’d scream like a little girl (he’s kind of a drama queen).

        She’s gone now, and we have a cat who likes to rassle with him. They’re both of a size, so it works out pretty well. Other than the cat is less than a year old, so the old man (he’s somewhere between 11 and 13, best estimate) tends to wear out way before the cat does.

      • 4 craftapple December 5, 2011 at 11:59 am

        I love that Baxter was a drama queen. Dogs give us such great memories, don’t they?

  2. 5 michelle December 2, 2011 at 2:53 pm

    that last pic made for quite a chuckle!!


Leave a Reply

Craft Apple

An apple a day keeps the doctor away, right? Well, crafting is my apple. It's what I do to maintain my sanity while taking care of my family. I homeschool my three boys, ages 12, 13, and 14), am a quilter, a bagaholic, and a pattern designer.
© 2006-2015 Craft Apple Creations

Archives