Hexagon Quilt

I’ve been seeing some hexagon quilts around lately and falling in love with them, I quickly forgot the difficulty of my last hexagon project.  This baby quilt is for a little guy named Dash born on Christmas eve.

hexagon quilt-Lo-Fi

I went through my stash and pulled out everything that was bluish or greenish without flowers.  Then I threw in a dash of orange (pun intended).  Funny, ‘cuz looking at it here it doesn’t look particularly boyish.  I built the quilt mainly around Sarah Jane’s Children at Play.

Hexagon Quilt - front

Love this line of fabric!  Lots of rockets, paper airplanes, and stripes for boys and hopscotch, florals, and gingham for girls.

hexagons
The back was much easier to put together.  If you look closely you can see where I didn’t have the backing pulled tightly enough during quilting.  But thankfully the wrinkling process is very forgiving.

Hexagon Quilt - back

I have another hexagon project in mind – one that will definitely be easier.

22 Responses to “Hexagon Quilt”


  1. 1 Alisa January 12, 2012 at 5:42 pm

    Oh, it looks really good. Did you sew the hexagons on the machine or by hand. I think it looks boy. I’m just finishing up a baby quilt in these colours.

    • 2 craftapple January 12, 2012 at 10:11 pm

      Thanks, Alisa! I sewed it by machine. No hand-stitching for me – I just don’t have the patience. It took a lot longer than I’m used to because I had to keep turning the pieces – there aren’t any long strips to stitch together.

  2. 3 Katie January 12, 2012 at 5:52 pm

    That sure is a dashing quilt! Sorry, I had to……I’m sure it will be a well loved quilt🙂

  3. 5 Jeanne January 12, 2012 at 10:25 pm

    I made a queen size one for my bed…All by hand…It took a couple years because it was just a go to project for tv watching….I would make another in a heartbeat if I could just get caught up on all the other unfinished quilts I have going….

    • 6 craftapple January 12, 2012 at 10:56 pm

      Okay that’s just super impressive and very humbling. My hexagons were HUGE – like 6″ across. I can’t imagine using itty bitty hexagons like some of the ones I see out there. Hang in there – just one day at a time and we’ll get our unfinished projects done one day – at least that’s what I tell myself. 🙂

  4. 9 Halle G January 13, 2012 at 9:03 am

    Lovely quilt! I have a stash of hexagons myself but can’t bring myself to start sewing them. Looks very daunting.

  5. 11 sonya January 13, 2012 at 11:16 pm

    So detailed! I wish I had time to quilt. I love that paper airplane fabric. How long did it take you to make it? I saw this cool technique where they had typography and to make the type “pop” they did all this free hand motion stitching in a contrasting thread. I wish I could find a link for you!

    • 12 craftapple January 14, 2012 at 8:06 pm

      Hi Sonya, This quilt took me about a week, working on it an hour or two a day. Quilts are always long projects, but I need to make a little quilt every few months – it reminds me of why I love sewing. 🙂

  6. 13 powell2317 January 14, 2012 at 5:33 pm

    Lovely! I bet Dash will look very cute wrapped up in it.

  7. 15 Roseanne January 15, 2012 at 2:18 am

    Your hexagons quilt is very nice I am shore it will get lots of love in it new home.

  8. 16 Chara Michele January 18, 2012 at 11:07 pm

    It looks wonderful! Definitely worth the extra difficulty I am sure the hexagons caused🙂 Saw above that you machine pieced it & I am impressed! I really want to try making a hexagon quilt & might have to try machine piecing…

    • 17 craftapple January 19, 2012 at 10:24 am

      Chara, Everywhere I look people talk about paper piecing and stitching by hand. I just couldn’t bring myself to do that. 🙂 Machine piecing wasn’t easy but the places where things seemed to go wrong were “forgiven” in the quilting process. I love it when it works out like that!

  9. 18 Freda January 27, 2012 at 9:27 pm

    Beautiful quilt, Linnie!

  10. 19 Sebastian February 3, 2012 at 2:19 am

    It does look so good! My wife will surely love to make one for our new baby.

  11. 20 Susan April 29, 2012 at 7:59 pm

    Love hexagons – love your quilt!

  12. 21 Courtenay July 14, 2012 at 7:06 pm

    I love your quilt! Where did you get the template/paper pieces for the 6 inch hexie?


Leave a Reply

Craft Apple

An apple a day keeps the doctor away, right? Well, crafting is my apple. It's what I do to maintain my sanity while taking care of my family. I homeschool my three boys, ages 12, 13, and 14), am a quilter, a bagaholic, and a pattern designer.
© 2006-2015 Craft Apple Creations

Archives