Spoonflowering

So after years of wanting to, but never feeling like I had a Spoonflower-worthy design, I finally took the plunge and printed something!

First off, let me say that I am NOT an artist.  In fact, the reason these kids don’t have noses and mouths is because me and my Sharpie couldn’t get them to look right.  What I’m trying to say is these kids looked better without half of their faces.  I ordered a yard of cotton and a yard of linen-cotton canvas.  I was really happy with the fabric, the color and really happy that the repeat design I created didn’t look too repetitive.  Now to go sew something with these sketchy kids.

17 Responses to “Spoonflowering”


  1. 1 Marlene February 27, 2012 at 2:41 pm

    oh how adorable!! I had no idea you could get your own design printed on fabric , how cool is THAT .. do you have any ideas what you’ll be making with your fabric?

    • 2 craftapple February 27, 2012 at 2:45 pm

      It’s such a great idea, right? I only wish it was cheaper, but I’m not complaining. Right now I’m thinking about drawing cases with wool felt on the binding (where dirty little hands touch the most). 🙂

      • 3 Marlene February 27, 2012 at 3:09 pm

        Well I certainly can’t wait to see!!!🙂 You have me wanting to get something turned into fabric now. LOL It IS spendy , but .. sometimes a girl just has to treat herself! LOL

  2. 4 cookiemomma February 27, 2012 at 3:02 pm

    I absolutely love the design

  3. 6 Fran February 27, 2012 at 3:52 pm

    What a lovely idea, so original. I’ve heard of Spoonflower but not been tempted until now…

  4. 7 Amy February 27, 2012 at 11:37 pm

    Wow! What a wonderful idea! Love the sketchy kids.🙂

  5. 8 Monika February 28, 2012 at 2:38 am

    How cool!!! I completely understand the ‘not an artist’ thing, I am working as an art teacher (music teacher by trade) and I don’t feel like an artist either, but my students have been making some really encouraging remarks, so I am starting to feel better- so here we go for you: You are an awesome artist!!!!! And now everyone can get fabric YOU have designed!!!

  6. 9 Tina in Boston February 28, 2012 at 8:42 am

    This is the cutest thing I’ve ever seen. I am sure whatever you make from it will be great! Looking forward to seeing your creation! Make sure you copyright your design!

  7. 10 UK lass in US March 2, 2012 at 2:59 pm

    I love those little figures! Plus, I keep trying to tell my kids that often less is more when it comes to details in drawing and your figures just prove it.

    • 11 craftapple March 2, 2012 at 3:54 pm

      Dawn, I totally forgot to link to you! I had seen Spoonflower here and there for the past couple of years but it was your Toy Soldiersthat finally made me want to take the plunge! Thanks for that. 🙂 It will probably take me a few more years to come up with something printworthy, but it was a lot of fun!

  8. 12 Natalie March 6, 2012 at 11:15 am

    I think this is the greatest idea and so much fun, too. I think your drawn children are perfect just the way they are!

  9. 13 Andrea March 12, 2012 at 3:32 pm

    I too have been admiring Spoonflower from afar. Perhaps now is the time to take the plunge. I like the faces just as they are. Did you scan in your design then email it? I have been struggling with adobe illustrator and frankly, I think we will be in the next century before I get anything to send.

  10. 14 Susan April 29, 2012 at 7:56 pm

    They do look awfully cute that way! Isn’t that how sunbonnet sue wound up with no face? =)

  11. 15 vicki klabusich June 10, 2012 at 9:20 am

    I absolutely LOVE stick figures! (especially kids!) I’m 61 and have loved them since I was a little stick girl myself! This is just adorable! Wish I could find that very fabric at Joanns or Hobby Lobby! I bet it would sell!
    It’s just so “perky” and cute! I love your “blog”! I love your style! I shall return again and again! Always looking for new ideas! You have them!
    Vicki
    Indiana


  1. 1 Sewing with my own fabric & a Tutorial! « Craft Apple Trackback on March 14, 2012 at 6:46 pm

Leave a Reply

Craft Apple

An apple a day keeps the doctor away, right? Well, crafting is my apple. It's what I do to maintain my sanity while taking care of my family. I homeschool my three boys, ages 12, 13, and 14), am a quilter, a bagaholic, and a pattern designer.
© 2006-2015 Craft Apple Creations

Archives