A Repurp

One day a shirt,

pear shirt

the next day a bag.

pear bag

Jersey was easier to work with than I thought – very stretchy and very forgiving.  Lining the bag with regular quilting fabric helps the jersey keep it’s shape.

pear bag2

I wore this shirt until it shrunk a little too much.  The sleeves make fun straps, don’t they?

10 Responses to “A Repurp”


  1. 1 Yael March 21, 2012 at 5:47 pm

    I do believe my t shirts are gonna babe to hide! This is genius!!
    Thanks for sharing!!!

  2. 2 Marryl All Write March 21, 2012 at 6:57 pm

    Love, love, love it! You’re a genius! I wish I knew how to sew…

  3. 3 Amy March 21, 2012 at 7:28 pm

    What a great idea! So cute!

  4. 4 suth2 March 27, 2012 at 4:41 pm

    What a great idea. I would never of thought to use a t-shirt for a bag.

  5. 6 Andrea March 29, 2012 at 4:16 pm

    That is a great bag! Such neat stitching in the photos. I have been cutting up Sophie’s outgrown patterned T-shirts into a quilt. has taken quite a while and the sections are getting bigger as the t-shirts are getting bigger to it is no longer an very even size, but we shall get there.

    I now have photoshop! So I shall be using your tutorial this easter break.

    • 7 craftapple March 29, 2012 at 5:36 pm

      I’ve been saving my boy’s T-shirts to one day turn into something. Not sure what yet…

      Have fun with the tutorial! I’ve found creating designs that I dream I can turn into fabric is kind of addicting.

    • 8 craftapple March 29, 2012 at 5:38 pm

      I’ve been saving my boy’s T-shirts to one day turn into something. Not sure what yet…

      Have fun with the tutorial! I’ve found creating designs that I dream I can turn into fabric is kind of addicting.

  6. 9 Alli March 30, 2012 at 7:18 pm

    That is super cute! I have some rather shrunken t-shirts I’d like to do this with… I have to buy replacements first, though, and I don’t know when that’s going to happen.😀

  7. 10 yarnigras May 12, 2012 at 7:06 am

    loved that city AND that store *sigh* but we moved and now live somewhere not nearly as much fun……hopefully we’ll be back!


Leave a Reply

Craft Apple

An apple a day keeps the doctor away, right? Well, crafting is my apple. It's what I do to maintain my sanity while taking care of my family. I homeschool my three boys, ages 12, 13, and 14), am a quilter, a bagaholic, and a pattern designer.
© 2006-2015 Craft Apple Creations

Archives