What Idu.

It’s been 10 months since I got a Yudu (nicely discounted at Michael’s).  I’ve had it on a shelfdu in my sewing room since then and I see it everyday.  I finally pulled it out last night and the good news is that after all that time on a shelf it still worksdu!

It was really hard to pick a designdu to start with.  Yes, you can clean off your screendu and reuse it for a different design, but even though I knew that logically, the emotion of it was this is permanentdu.  I finally just went with something I thought was cute and fundu – something that a friend doodled for me (and I got permission to usedu).  And here she is – the crying girldu herself:

wah - yudu
WAH!

I tried to play with different fabrics to see how it looked and at this point I’m pretty happy with what I seedu.  And while I was looking around online I saw that there is a miniature Yudu for cards called Yudu Cardshop.  I’m temptedu – I really am.

Tips for your first Yudu project:

  • Clear a spacedu in your kitchen – it’s really the best place to start since you’ll need a nice big sinkdu to rinse your screen in.
  • Set aside several hours for the process.  Creating the screendu is what takes a bunch of time – just drying the emulsion to the screen took an entire hour on the drying shelfdu.  Let’s just say that when I got to the actual screen printing I was up WAY later than I had wantedu to be.
  • If you prefer reading your instructions lookdu here.  If  you prefer a video demo lookdu here.
  • The screening works differently on different fabrics – so try them out on different fabrics to see what you likedu.

My overall thoughts?  2 thumbsdu up – lots of fundu!

Do you Yudu?  Have any Yu-tipsdu?  I’d love to hear them!

6 Responses to “What Idu.”


  1. 1 EvelynH in NYC April 18, 2012 at 2:12 pm

    I have a Yudu in my basement, still in the box unopened. It’s been there for at least a year, probably longer (so sad). Glad to hear your machine still worked-du!

  2. 3 jayna 23 April 19, 2012 at 12:43 am

    wow, du you know–that is the coolest picture!

  3. 5 Scott Murray May 14, 2012 at 8:01 am

    That is brilliant! I love how you squeezed the “Y” in which makes the cushion truly unique and adds a bit of a “story” to the cushion. It looks excellent and will hopefully be loved and used for many years to come!

  4. 6 caila611 May 16, 2012 at 12:17 pm

    I want one!!! The hubs is a graphic designer and I would love to put some of his designs on shirts!


Leave a Reply

Craft Apple

An apple a day keeps the doctor away, right? Well, crafting is my apple. It's what I do to maintain my sanity while taking care of my family. I homeschool my three boys, ages 12, 13, and 14), am a quilter, a bagaholic, and a pattern designer.
© 2006-2015 Craft Apple Creations

Archives