Traveling with a couple of cushions

Happy summer everyone!  We are in Taiwan again, trying to conquer jet lag and failing miserably.  It was quite the ordeal getting here.  One of my boys chipped off a good bit of his front tooth just minutes before we were supposed to leave for the airport.  My first thought was that we might have to cancel our trip, but thanks to our fabulous dentist, who agreed to meet us at his office on a Saturday we made it.  My son was rather dramatic – crying, sputtering and coughing in the chair – such a sad sight.  The dentist’s office wasn’t fully staffed so I found myself  holding the suction tube while the assistant took care of something else.  The suction tube is an impossible tool for an amateur to use.  I was aiming for the spit but kept accidentally suctioning the inside of his cheek.  Over and over again.  After a bit the dentist kindly took it from me.  Some laughing gas, lidocaine, and an overhead movie calmed my son down and the tooth was repaired in record time.  Ibuprofen every few hours and we made it to the other side of the world!  I miss our dogs and I miss my hubby, but I also love it here.  Hubby will join us in a couple of weeks.

I made a couple of quilted cushions as gifts for friends here.  One for a friend’s daughter,

Birdie Cushion

and one for a newborn’s nursery.

ABC Cushion

What makes these cushions special for me is that I screen printed the main panels with my Yudu.  After yuduing, you are supposed to set the ink by ironing it for a really long time (3-5 minutes).  That worked fine for the little birdie because it was small enough to fit under the iron, but the alphabet print took a while because it was so much larger.  Standing at the ironing board with an iron that automatically shuts off every 30 seconds and trying to heat set the ink in 6 different places – I got bored, I lost track of what I had done, and I was wishing I had one of these heat presses.  I have to admit that I was scared that when I threw the cushion covers in the wash the ink would wash all off.  But all is well and I’m hoping the recipients like them!  And now I have extra room in my suitcase to pack in some craft magazines for the trip home.

3 Responses to “Traveling with a couple of cushions”


  1. 1 Michelle June 19, 2013 at 12:25 am

    Oh, I just love the alphabet one! Worth the effort for sure.

  2. 2 Simply Knots July 7, 2013 at 9:05 pm

    My goodness, I love these pillows! I find it fascinating that you got an inked image on there, lol. Your baby Hill quilt is gorgeous too. I’ve had someone request stuff and they never use it. No more gifts for them lol. Anyway, I love your style!

  3. 3 dalanak July 17, 2013 at 11:52 am

    THIS is ADORABLE! I love it!!!!


Leave a Reply

Craft Apple

An apple a day keeps the doctor away, right? Well, crafting is my apple. It's what I do to maintain my sanity while taking care of my family. I homeschool my three boys, ages 12, 13, and 14), am a quilter, a bagaholic, and a pattern designer.
© 2006-2015 Craft Apple Creations

Archives