Softened Linen Quilt

I was online looking for closet storage solutions for my boys’ room, because with 3 boys sharing a room, storage needs must be addressed.  As usual, I got a little web ADD and found myself in the kid’s bedding section and came across this beautiful organic linen quilt.  So simple and so precious and certainly doable at less than $129, right?

Linen Quilt
2 yards of softened linen for the front, 2 yards of softened linen for the back, 1 1/3 yards batting.  Total cost for supplies: $45.

Linen Quilt
The thought of tying a quilt like this almost sent my carpel tunnel into a flare up so I opted for a decorative stitch randomly placed, every 6 inches or so.

Linen Quilt

This is why I love needle-punch batting.  I can tie it up to 10 inches apart without the possibility of it shredding apart inside with multiple washings.

Linen Quilt

The edges wrinkled up nicely, making this look like it had been used for generations.  The obvious time-saver here is that there was no piecing and no binding.  I “pillow-cased” it which is very doable with a tied quilt.

This soft baby quilt went to sweet Baby Collette, born just 2 weeks ago.  And, of course, I still haven’t purchased closet storage for the kids.

10 Responses to “Softened Linen Quilt”


  1. 1 Ruth August 29, 2014 at 1:31 am

    It’s gorgeous, such a lovely gift.

  2. 2 Stephanie Halliday August 29, 2014 at 2:39 am

    So pretty! What does “pillowcased it” mean? Do you have a picture?

    • 3 craftapple August 29, 2014 at 3:51 pm

      Hi Stephanie,

      Maybe I didn’t use the right word. What I meant was that I sewed around the outside (right sides together), leaving an opening to turn it right side out – the same way lots of people make cushion covers. That way I avoided having to bind the quilt. I’m not comfortable doing that for a regular quilt because of the fabric needing to line up at the edges, but because I was “tying” it with stitches it seemed like a good option.

      On Fri, Aug 29, 2014 at 2:39 AM, Craft Apple wrote:

      >

  3. 4 Alli August 29, 2014 at 6:50 pm

    I think your version is cuter than the store one!

  4. 5 Mel September 2, 2014 at 8:09 pm

    This is absolutely gorgeous! Did you buy the linen ‘pre-softened’? Also, I really like the look of the needle-punch batting but not sure how you do that?

    • 6 craftapple September 2, 2014 at 8:54 pm

      Hi Mel,

      Thanks for your kind words! You can search “softened linen fabric” and find this fabric. It is a lightweight linen – really soft and cozy! The batting is Warm ‘n Natural batting that is already needle punched and it’s my favorite. I prewash the fabric but don’t prewash the batting. After the quilt is complete wash it on warm. The prewashed fabric will not shrink, but the batting will shrink just a little bit, giving the quilt a nice wrinkled look. Hope this helps!

      Linda

      On Tue, Sep 2, 2014 at 8:09 PM, Craft Apple wrote:

      >

      • 7 Mel September 2, 2014 at 9:10 pm

        Hi Linda,

        Thanks so much for the reply. Somehow, I haven’t come across needle-punched batting before, so thanks for the tip.

        I meant to add how much I liked the way you stitched the ‘ties’, it looks so neat and finished. Just one more question: it’s a little hard to tell, did you use stranded embroidery thread by hand?

        Mel

      • 8 craftapple September 2, 2014 at 9:18 pm

        Mel, I used a decorative stitch on my machine and regular quilting thread. I actually don’t enjoy using a needle and thread and avoid it as often as possible. 🙂

        On Tue, Sep 2, 2014 at 9:10 PM, Craft Apple wrote:

        >

      • 9 Mel September 2, 2014 at 9:34 pm

        Thanks for taking the time to answer my questions, really appreciate it.

  5. 10 uklassinus September 8, 2014 at 9:55 am

    It’s beautiful. I love the idea of stitched ties. One of the things keeping me from making a quilt is the dread of quilting it – but I’m not that keen on how ties look. I love this solution


Leave a Reply

Craft Apple

An apple a day keeps the doctor away, right? Well, crafting is my apple. It's what I do to maintain my sanity while taking care of my family. I homeschool my three boys, ages 12, 13, and 14), am a quilter, a bagaholic, and a pattern designer.
© 2006-2015 Craft Apple Creations

Archives