Drawing Cases

Last week I was chatting with a mom at church in the ladies room (of course, because the best conversations happen in the ladies room).  Her little girl is 3 and has just graduated from Nursery to Children’s Church.  That meant that she would now need to sit in “big church” for 20 minutes until she was released to go to Children’s Church.
drawing cases
Hmmm,” I thought to myself, “This little girl (and her mom) need a drawing case.”  So this drawing case is for her:

drawing case schoolhouse

It seems so long ago that my kids were that age, that I packed all kinds of things in a huge bag every time we left the house and packed 3 drawing cases for our trips to church.  As soon as the kids started getting antsy I passed out their drawing cases with one finger in front of my lips, reminding them to be quiet.  It’s been a long time since they’ve needed their drawing cases but some things don’t change.  Even last Sunday I was still leaning over to remind them to be quiet.

Will it ever end?” I ask myself, “No it will not,” I answer myself.

Can you guess which one is my favorite?  Yep, the dresses.  This case is going to another little girl from my 5 year-old class who just had a birthday.
drawing case dresses

And finally, this is the last one.  I have no plans for this one, but I’m sure in good time this drawing case will find a home.

drawing case trees

 

The Little Artist Drawing Case is part of my Small Books sewing pattern available in the shop.  The pattern does NOT include instructions for the little circle embellishments, but they were easy enough to figure out.

5 Responses to “Drawing Cases”


  1. 1 Stephanie Halliday September 14, 2014 at 12:01 am

    These are adorable! My kids would love these especially for church! One of these days I’ll have to make one! Hopefully sooner rather than later bc I’ve been saying I’ll make a “Quiet” type book for years and just can’t get myself to do it… Thank you for sharing!

  2. 2 Donna S. October 1, 2014 at 9:50 pm

    Brings back fun memories. I made these for my grandchildren when they were little & a few as gifts too!

  3. 3 dramaqueenseams November 2, 2014 at 11:35 am

    Love it! So creative and cute!

  4. 4 Art of the Rose Flower November 19, 2014 at 7:51 am

    Ola.
    O blog está muito bonito e tem coisas lindas. (:

    Visite o meu blog (ainda no inicio), comente e adicione nos favoritos ( eu retribuo).
    PS: Estou a procura de uma madrinha para o meu blog. ^^
    Beijinho*
    http://artroseflower.blogspot.pt/


Leave a Reply

Craft Apple

An apple a day keeps the doctor away, right? Well, crafting is my apple. It's what I do to maintain my sanity while taking care of my family. I homeschool my three boys, ages 12, 13, and 14), am a quilter, a bagaholic, and a pattern designer.
© 2006-2015 Craft Apple Creations

Archives