I needed you.

Last soccer season, as I sat wrapped up in a ridiculously ugly hand-me-down, stored-in-the-trunk-of-the-car, COW-themed blanket (yep, as in, moo) shivering against the biting cold, I thought to myself, “Why am I using this ugly cow blanket when I know how to quilt?”  Yay!  An excuse to buy some fabric!

A Heather Bailey Lottie Da Fat Quarter Pack won out and many months later I had a quilt to wrap up in during soccer games.  Yes, that’s a quilt over 2 jackets and multiple layers of clothing.  It gets cold out there!

Game

I don’t know about you, but after all those hours of working, I couldn’t just let the quilt sit in the car. So it comes in the house between games where we use it all the time.  Our piano teacher’s baby naps on it during piano lessons,

Baby A

we snuggle up under it on the couch during school (my boys don’t seem to mind that it’s girly),

school

it occasionally becomes the background of a selfie,

selfie

or a prop in a photo.

quilted sham 1

{sigh}  Cute quilt, I didn’t know how much I needed you.

5 Responses to “I needed you.”


  1. 1 Stephanie Halliday January 28, 2015 at 2:53 pm

    I love it! : ) Did you design it yourself or use a pattern? Can a pattern be bought? Thanks!

    • 2 craftapple January 28, 2015 at 4:58 pm

      Hi Stephanie,

      Thanks for asking. I designed it myself, but it was super easy. I’ll put up the “pattern” for the quilt top soon!

      Linda

      On Wed, Jan 28, 2015 at 1:53 PM, Craft Apple wrote:

      >

  2. 3 Ranelle January 29, 2015 at 12:08 pm

    It’s a good thing that you love it so much because if you didn’t I’d come steal it today on my lunch break. You have excellent taste in fabric and skill beyond measure. LOVE it!! : )

  3. 5 Karen sue February 5, 2015 at 7:41 am

    I hated the slippery spread that came on our camper BED but kept dragging one back and forth from my bed to camper. Now I’ve finally got a top pieced together and in the spring it will be loaded in as the camper quilt.
    Yours looks great.


Leave a Reply

Craft Apple

An apple a day keeps the doctor away, right? Well, crafting is my apple. It's what I do to maintain my sanity while taking care of my family. I homeschool my three boys, ages 12, 13, and 14), am a quilter, a bagaholic, and a pattern designer.
© 2006-2015 Craft Apple Creations

Archives