Spectacular Softies Contest: Pinky the Pom Pom Turtle

Leave it to Sew Mama Sew to throw a contest that I really want to enter.  I can’t remember the last time I entered an online contest. The Spectacular Softies Contest sounded so fun and I’m not even normally a softie maker.  I think I’ve sewn three total.  Maybe.  Here is entry #1:  Pinky, the Pom Pom Turtle.
Pom Pom Turtle
Pink linen, wool felt and lots of hand-stitched pompoms.  Pinky deserved a name full of alliteration and fun.

Here’s her belly.  Poor girl was only on her shell for a moment.

Turtle Under

And now, to her great relief, she’s right side up again.  Here’s an aerial view.

Turtle aerial

The rules say I can enter more more than one softie.  Bet you can’t guess what my next post will be!

1 Response to “Spectacular Softies Contest: Pinky the Pom Pom Turtle”


  1. 1 Charlotte Cornwell October 29, 2015 at 10:17 pm

    Hello,
    I was hoping to make something like your pom pom turtle softie for a school textiles project and was wondering whether you would be willing to share your pattern? I was mainly wondering how you achieved the shape of the turtles body?
    Thank you so much,
    Charlotte Cornwell


Leave a Reply

Craft Apple

An apple a day keeps the doctor away, right? Well, crafting is my apple. It's what I do to maintain my sanity while taking care of my family. I homeschool my three boys, ages 12, 13, and 14), am a quilter, a bagaholic, and a pattern designer.
© 2006-2015 Craft Apple Creations

Archives