Type 1

doughnuts

1 year ago today we were in the hospital with my 11 year old learning how to do the job of a pancreas that had stopped producing insulin. Today we marked the day with doughnuts for breakfast.

Before you judge, remember that Type 1 Diabetes is an autoimmune disease. It is not caused by or made worse by eating sugar as long as treated properly with insulin.🙂

We are grateful for insulin and grateful for the wonderful doctors and nurses at our children’s hospital that helped us on this new journey.  Overnight my son went from feeling incredibly sick to returning to his happy, bouncy self.  

When I think about how much brain power it takes for us to keep track of his insulin needs, I see how incredible God is for making organs that can do so much work without us having to think about it.  Diabetes has made me more grateful.  It has robbed me of much sleep and taken away some of my “me” time.  Diabetes has made me a better mom.

 

2 Responses to “Type 1”


  1. 1 Monika May 9, 2015 at 3:22 pm

    Happy Diaversary! It’s been just over 4y in our house, our oldest DS at age 10 1\2 – life is never quite the same, but life goes on, doesn’t it? Trying to get night time basals sorted once again I’ve had too many broken nights lately (and he seems to have a cold coming on so long forward to that – not!) but overall it’s become just part of every day now:)

    • 2 craftapple May 9, 2015 at 10:42 pm

      Monika, you and I speak the same language! 🙂 With the ups and downs of hormones things have gotten unpredictable lately. I’ve started falling asleep on the couch in the afternoons. That’s what these late-night checks do to us. Sounds like you and I are in the same place right now. We just upped his nighttime basal so hopefully we’re back on track. We do what we gotta do for our kids! Sounds like you are doing great – keep it up, Mom! Happy Mother’s Day (in the US). 🙂

      On Sat, May 9, 2015 at 3:22 PM, Craft Apple wrote:

      >


Leave a Reply

Craft Apple

An apple a day keeps the doctor away, right? Well, crafting is my apple. It's what I do to maintain my sanity while taking care of my family. I homeschool my three boys, ages 12, 13, and 14), am a quilter, a bagaholic, and a pattern designer.
© 2006-2015 Craft Apple Creations

Archives