Creating Art When You Have Zero Drawing Ability

I’m such a cheater.

But I feel pretty good about it.

I saw this little flower in a field and loved it’s shape and beauty.  Took the shot and started to wonder it if would be possible to paint it on canvas.  But what do you do when you want to paint something but have no drawing ability?  You tap into your other strengths and figure out a way to cheat.

projector flower

First, I loaded the picture onto my tablet.  Then, taped tracing paper to the tablet and traced the flower with a marker.  I did it this way because I’m really not skilled at drawing with a mouse.

projector tracing

Then, I photocopied the image onto a transparency and made a projector using my cell phone flashlight, glass door and canvas.  It reminds me of the old overhead projectors my teachers used in class.  This is best done in dim light.

projector

After painting my gray background, I traced the image of the flower onto the canvas and filled it in.  I could only be happier if I actually knew how to properly paint, but I haven’t figured out how to fake that yet!

 

projector art

 

This weed is apparently called a Smallflower Dessert-Chickory or Texas Dandelion.  So purty.

8 Responses to “Creating Art When You Have Zero Drawing Ability”


  1. 1 thepaperbaker July 2, 2015 at 12:04 pm

    So clever! Love it!

  2. 3 Louisa July 2, 2015 at 5:13 pm

    I LOVE it! How very fun! Thanks for the projector information!

  3. 5 Jak and Will by Stephanie July 3, 2015 at 9:28 pm

    I think it turned out to be quite lovely, and what a clever way to go about transfering it!

  4. 7 jleast09 July 6, 2015 at 12:31 pm

    This is so clever! And your painting looks great too-don’t sell yourself short!😉 I must try this out!

  5. 8 Creative Crafts DIY October 17, 2015 at 8:48 pm

    What an idea great nice tracing🙂


Leave a Reply

Craft Apple

An apple a day keeps the doctor away, right? Well, crafting is my apple. It's what I do to maintain my sanity while taking care of my family. I homeschool my three boys, ages 12, 13, and 14), am a quilter, a bagaholic, and a pattern designer.
© 2006-2015 Craft Apple Creations

Archives