Camera Strap Fun

For years I’ve been using the blah black strap that came with my camera.  I was just never motivated to make myself a camera strap.  Then I got a new camera and the new strap had the model of the camera embroidered right onto the strap in high contrast white on black. Why do they do that?  I felt like I’d be a walking advertisement.  The Look at me and my camera! strap is not my style.  So the day the new camera came I found this tutorial on Allen Design Studio’s blog and made myself a camera strap cover.

camera strap

Honestly, it was quick and easy.  Most of my time went to selecting fabric to go along with my ribbon.  And that is the most fun part of sewing.

camerastrap

The brilliant part of this tutorial is the tearing of the fabric and the nice raw edges.  It was a Why didn’t I think of that? moment.

Instagram Apple logo

4 Responses to “Camera Strap Fun”


  1. 1 Nerdy Librarian Life April 10, 2016 at 3:51 pm

    Yeah, I finally got on the bandwagon about a year ago and made myself a camera strap cover. I love yours! Great job!

  2. 3 Michelle Dornacher-Allen April 13, 2016 at 8:16 pm

    Super cute!!! Thanks so much! It’s nice to hear feedback and know some of what I post goes to good use.🙂 xoxo-Michelle

  3. 4 Rosie94427 July 15, 2016 at 7:52 am

    I am going to try this ASAP because my camera strap is now falling apart and this looks really good and love the pattern. I can’t wait to try it out!!!
    Rosie💖


Leave a Reply

Craft Apple

An apple a day keeps the doctor away, right? Well, crafting is my apple. It's what I do to maintain my sanity while taking care of my family. I homeschool my three boys, ages 12, 13, and 14), am a quilter, a bagaholic, and a pattern designer.
© 2006-2015 Craft Apple Creations

Archives