Leather Straps

It’s always been a dream of mine to be able to put leather straps on my bags but I’ve been hesitant to purchase a bunch of stuff online while not really knowing anything about what I’m buying. Turns out there is a Tandy Leather brick and mortar store just a few miles from my house. Who knew? The very nice gentleman helped me find everything I needed to attach leather straps with rivets to my bag. I got a hand press, a couple sizes of rivets and all the necessary hand press attachments.



After watching a few YouTube videos, I was in business. The only mistake I made on this bag was marking the rivet placements on the fabric with a pen and then realizing I marked them in the wrong place (oops),  which is why I took another piece of leather and a few rivets and attached them on over the pen marks.  Whew.leather-straps-2

I actually like the extra pieces of leather.  They make the top of the bag more sturdy and less floppy.

Since this is my first time using leather like this I have so many questions:

Should I have reinforced the area around the fabric where the straps are attached? Probably.
Will the fabric hold up under long-term use?  I hope so.
Am I allergic to the tanning chemicals in the leather?  Possibly.
Is there a safer leather to use?  I think so.  I need to do some more research.

Meanwhile, I’m enjoying my new bag!  Fabric is duck cloth from Hobby Lobby.

1 Response to “Leather Straps”

  1. 1 karen sue October 21, 2016 at 2:31 pm

    Like the look of the leather straps. I was looking at a pile of bags in my crafty room today and thinking I just needed to sort through them and if they weren’t sturdy enough to do what I needed, pass them on to someone else. Great look..

Leave a Reply

Craft Apple

An apple a day keeps the doctor away, right? Well, crafting is my apple. It's what I do to maintain my sanity while taking care of my family. I homeschool my three boys, ages 12, 13, and 14), am a quilter, a bagaholic, and a pattern designer.
© 2006-2015 Craft Apple Creations