Warm Winter, Peanut

If I had hand-picked a dog for myself, I couldn’t have picked a better pet than Peanut.  He came to us by chance, rescued off the streets of our neighborhood.  No chip, no collar, and after days of posting online and hanging signs, no claim from his owner.  That was 4 years ago and he’s become a sweet addition to our family.  At times he’s 13 pounds of vicious watchdog and at other times he’s 13 pounds of snuggles. And during the winter, he’s 13 pounds of sorry shivering.  I’ve bought him sweaters from the store, but he’s at an in-between size – the smalls are a bit tight and the mediums are so big that they’ll “get wet” when he’s let outside.  This year, I determined to fix the sweater problem.

I used an old sweatshirt of mine, cutting it so that the neckline went around his neck.  I also eliminated those uncomfortable front leg holes by using an elastic loop that goes around a button.  He still doesn’t like having it put on over his head, but eliminating the awkward leg hole problem has made putting on the sweater so much quicker.

peanut-jacket

Warm winter to you, Peanut!

peanut-jacket-2

 

7 Responses to “Warm Winter, Peanut”


  1. 1 Angela December 11, 2016 at 3:40 pm

    I think Peanut is a cutie. Rescues are the best.

  2. 3 B Creative Party Planners December 11, 2016 at 3:53 pm

    Delicious. Both Peanut and the sweater!!!!

  3. 5 thedaughterladybug December 17, 2016 at 7:12 pm

    that’s so cute!!!! . love your blog!!!


Leave a Reply

Craft Apple

An apple a day keeps the doctor away, right? Well, crafting is my apple. It's what I do to maintain my sanity while taking care of my family. I homeschool my three boys, ages 12, 13, and 14), am a quilter, a bagaholic, and a pattern designer.
© 2006-2015 Craft Apple Creations

Archives