Two Quilts. (Yep, TWO!!!)

It all started with me wanting to design my own baby boy quilt.  It was going to have mushrooms growing all over it, and it was going to be SO CUTE.  I drew it up in Publisher and colored it in.  I was determined to applique without adhesives.  After determining that I could cut the applique in half by not having mushroom stems, what I ended up with was a quilt with little mushroom caps on it.  Isn’t it funny how things work out? The caps look more like little hills but I’m happy with how it turned out.  This little boy is due any day and his quilt is ready for him!

Even though the mushrooms didn’t look the way I expected, I really liked the patchwork background and went to work on a mushroom-less girl quilt.

I love a cute ruffle quilt.  And this one was backed with a double gauze receiving blanket.

The ruffle is a Mona Luna print.  I am gradually hoping to use up my traditional fabric and replacing it with organic.  My chemical sensitivities have gotten more severe and I’ve been cleaning up my life.  No more adhesives melting under my iron and putting fumes in the air.  No more fabric with dye fixers that I shouldn’t be around.  Did you know that there is a certification process for organic fabrics that can ensure that the chemicals used in processing meet certain toxicity and environmental standards?  GOTS certification – that’s what it’s called. MonaLuna, Birch, and Cloud 9 fabrics all have this certification, thankfully, so while my fabric choices are somewhat limited, there is still a lot to choose from.

A post with 2 quilts!  I’m so proud of myself.  🙂

 

Instagram Apple logo

0 Responses to “Two Quilts. (Yep, TWO!!!)”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Craft Apple

An apple a day keeps the doctor away, right? Well, crafting is my apple. It's what I do to maintain my sanity while taking care of my family. I homeschool my three boys, ages 12, 13, and 14), am a quilter, a bagaholic, and a pattern designer.
© 2006-2015 Craft Apple Creations

Archives