A Lesson In Leather Strap Placement

I’ve been putting a lot of leather straps on bags lately and here is a sample. At first glance, these bags probably look about the same.  Sure, one is bigger, but they use the same fabric and they both have leather straps. The leather really elevates the bag, in my opinion.

The bag below is the first one I made.  Nothing glaringly wrong with it. Except that the straps look funky.  I had momentarily forgotten about my 6-inches-between-the-straps rule.   The leather is bending and warping near where it attaches to the fabric and eventually this bag is going to become misshapen between the straps. Oops.

Jessie leather 1

Lucky for me I had enough fabric for another one!  Made the bag a bit bigger and more importantly, remembered the strap rule and am so happy with it!

Jessie leather 2

Can you see it?  Left = bad.  Right = good!

Jessie leather 3

Gray + lemons + limes + tangerines + leather = very good.

 

 

 

 

2 Responses to “A Lesson In Leather Strap Placement”


  1. 1 Laura August 11, 2017 at 11:31 am

    Thank you! I never knew there was a rule and am always putting the straps wherever they look good.


Leave a Reply

Craft Apple

An apple a day keeps the doctor away, right? Well, crafting is my apple. It's what I do to maintain my sanity while taking care of my family. I homeschool my three boys, ages 12, 13, and 14), am a quilter, a bagaholic, and a pattern designer.
© 2006-2015 Craft Apple Creations

Archives